Bad Whales Pt.2 @bernisanders Flagging Posts for No Real Reason

in #flagging7 years ago (edited)

@bernisanders just flagged one of my last posts because he just wants to be that kind of low consciousness being.

If anyone wants to get rid of bots for everyone on the platform, please do. But targeting me for getting bots is lame when @xeldal and other autovoters vote for others as well.

Stop flagging me and grow up, or I'll keep exposing your bullshit behavior, ok?

Flagged: Plain Packaging for Cigarettes Reduces Smoking

Sort:  

The @berniesanders hate is strong here, but they indeed have a checkered past as a positive Steemit community member so I get why folks feel that way.

Edit: I have no reason to personally distrust @berniesanders, but the general community seems to find the account behavior strange

Crabs in a bucket, this is actually mentioned in the whitepaper.

The Story of the Crab Bucket

A man was walking along the beach and saw another man fishing in the surf with a bait bucket beside him. As he drew closer, he saw that the bait bucket had no lid and had live crabs inside.

"Why don't you cover your bait bucket so the crabs won't escape?", he said.

"You don't understand.", the man replied, "If there is one crab in the bucket it would surely crawl out very quickly. However, when there are many crabs in the bucket, if one tries to crawl up the side, the others grab hold of it and pull it back down so that it will share the same fate as the rest of them."

So it is with people. If one tries to do something different, get better grades, improve herself, escape her environment, or dream big dreams, other people will try to drag her back down to share their fate.

I think it's worth also quoting in part the text that proceeds and follows

The only “problem” with crab mentality is when people w rongly believe someone is profiting at everyone else's expense.

Eliminating “abuse” is not possible and shouldn’t be the goal. Even those who are attempting to “abuse” the system are still doing work. [...] All that is necessary is to ensure that abuse isn’t so rampant that it undermines the incentive to do real work in support of the community and its currency.

Or, there's that famous quote that goes something like "It's not enough to succeed, your friends must also fail".

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

@personz "All that is necessary is to ensure that abuse isn’t so rampant that it undermines the incentive to do real work in support of the community and its currency."
I think that is going on presently, is it not? Flagging sure is discouraging and how is that not undermining incentive?

I think it is for the flagged in some cases, or in some cases it encourages them more! But even still, there's a hit that gets taken with the discouragement even to the most resilient I would say, rants be damned.

Perhaps we're experiencing a bit of bystander effect? But I guess it concerns us all

Yes I have never been flagged on a blog post. Yet I've seen people leave from it, I've had family member that got flagged by @asshole and didn't know anything about bots, and she was really depressed. I taught her how to look at accounts and showed her how to tell it was a bot, showed her that it wasn't targeting just her, and then explained reputation and steem power and told her it didn't actually do anything to her.

That takes knowledge and research a lot of people haven't done, and as more people come here the population without that knowledge will likely be greater.

I've also seen lurkers that have come here and have seen it and STATED that is the reason they did not join steemit. Those were generally people who dislike reddit for the same reason.

So is the goal to grow the platform, or be the personal fiefdom of whales?

Maybe we need a bot to post a comment on the newbie accounts posts that get flagged for the first time? Maybe everyone below 100 SP and time since first post < 1 or 2 months. Just with a little explainer. Basically doing what you did but automatically.

Or maybe that's fighting fire with fire, which, though sounds good in movies, burns the whole place down 😅

Maybe we need a bot to post a comment on the newbie accounts posts that get flagged for the first time? Maybe everyone below 100 SP and time since first post < 1 or 2 months. Just with a little explainer. Basically doing what you did but automatically.
Or maybe that's fighting fire with fire, which, though sounds good in movies, burns the whole place down 😅

Your idea is not bad. I'd love to see a way where there was no need for a down vote, yet there are some cases where it is needed.

As ultimately whether someone likes Anchovies or not does not mean I run around yanking Anchovies off of the shelves in super markets because I don't like it. Also me walking around saying that is too expensive and pulling out my marker to reduce the price of someone elses product doesn't work either.

Why is there a down vote that does these things? The answer to that is because none of us (including Dan) have come up with a way to do it that wouldn't open the door to even more gaming of the system. Worse there would be no way to check that gaming.

I don't fight fire with fire. I don't believe that someone doing wrong means I should do wrong back. I use words, and reason. These days that may not always work, and usually it doesn't. Yet sometimes it does.

I mean they more or less say in the whitepaper they want more crabs in the bucket, i.e this kind of crabs pulling crabs down is part of the original idea for the system.

The goal of building a community currency is to get more “crabs in the bucket”.

You're right, Dan doesn't seem to have a better idea, personally I think they're satisfied with it as it currently stands.

Though I like the big ideas, practical small steps are what I do, I'm not a big person. I'm the guy pulling people out of fights and making sure they don't get killed in real like. Not butting in to resolving deputes but trying to help in a small way.

On your anchovies analogy, I think if a system is premised on power as the means and ends of action then this kind of thing is bound to happen.

And I definitely don't believe in fire with fire. I think words still work. Reason? I'm not so sure! 😅

I've logged the idea here anyway in the Steem FOSSbot ideas list 🙂

You're right, Dan doesn't seem to have a better idea, personally I think they're satisfied with it as it currently stands.

I've actually engaged with Dan in one of my posts on flags. He is not satisfied with it. He just has no solution. He actually has said he'd love an up votes only solution, but due to game theory there currently needs to be a down vote.

Yet he is aware of the problem. Being aware doesn't provide a solution though. Many things you can try to do only open the door for a different style of gaming. Some of them open the door to unchecked gaming.

So he doesn't want this. Simply has no idea yet as to how it can be fixed...

In fact this is a problem society has been dealing with in all of history. There is no true Utopia.

I do find it Ironic that one of the people acting like the people Bernie Sanders bashes in his speeches is the person using his name as a handle.

Kind of like if Satan opened up an account here and called himself @ThePope

Oh right! I stand corrected. Do you have a link to that exchange? I'd love to read it.

I think you're right, there is no true utopia. It's messy. I think that's where these appeals, fights and such come in, they're actually part of the system correction, always have been. Perhaps the difference here is that there are no private fights, on the blockchain anyway. This is here for us all to see.

Oh right! I stand corrected. Do you have a link to that exchange? I'd love to read it.

It was in that post. Though during that I was also finally convinced that the flag needs to stay at the moment for game theory reasons. Up votes only would make the system completely gameable and exploitable.

Thank you for this, and the interesting chat

Maybe we need a bot to post a comment on the newbie accounts posts that get flagged for the first time? Maybe everyone below 100 SP and time since first post < 1 or 2 months. Just with a little explainer. Basically doing what you did but automatically.

Or maybe that's fighting fire with fire, which, though sounds good in movies, burns the whole place down 😅

Yup

lets earn those zeroes :) vote at 1% then somebody can downvote and it's all cool :)

There are few things which I find reprehensible on steemit I am pleased to say! One I do find deplorable is the intra-voting which goes on amongst the whales. This creates rewards in an undeserving fashion whilst impeding the decentralisation of the platform, dissuading new users and reducing the price of steem.
I have no personal axe to grind with @berniesanders, he has been good enough to vote on some of my work of late for which I am grateful, as do you, @krnel for which I am equally grateful. Whale antics have only one place to be sorted out and that is in the whale weigh station.
A PM system as we have on steemit.chat would mitigate the need to rail, though I understand that flags are a pain. Minnows suffer the dreaded flag worse than most and we get scant notice when we bring it up.
I received a whale flag on a post just after it was posted. It killed the post. It turned out that the flag was made in error ... sorry! A bit like a US drone attack's effort to make amends.
Less votes, minimum 50% and no flags - but we need to be able to put a mark on a post if it is plagiarism or a blatant C&P.

I hate to use Flag. Even when I watch the content is not only a good closed the page.
Building society here needs to be cooperation, there is also some new members. We have to learn and help them

Welcome mate like your poetry, can't keep up but I like seeing you post daily :) don't let the man get you down after all this is the Matrix :D

Hello my brother @j3dy . I also like to follow you. But I did not understand what you mean .can't keep up ??????

haha it's a reference

Don't Let The Man Get You Down by Fatboy Slim

the matrix part should be easy :)

Building society here needs to be cooperation, there is also some new members. We have to learn and help them

In short it's something like don't let the system get you down. I know what you mean I've been saying it, sadly it's easier to downvote and thus give 20$ to somebody else than teach the "overated" poster that there are other people too and much are getting 0.00 that and the fact that teaching people is harder than making "earnings"

Instead of ""exposing your bullshit behavior"" @krnel, you could maybe try to post different kind of content, looks like kindergarten , or don't be too serious about it, take a break, go for a walk, make respiration exercises, or take a small vacation with your Steemit earnings , and come back with original fresh posts ? hope it can help to cool down your engine

He posts quite a bit of different content. A lot of it has gotten flagged, and they were well written and food for thought. He didn't start writing this type of post until he had been attacked quite a few times.

He also made a lot more off of those posts than these, even the ones that were flagged. So these posts are clearly not about money. He is also not writing these posts just for himself, he is not saying, Please stop down voting me, but continue to do it to anyone else.

yay are we ready for the war? would you like some oil for the fire :)

burn it all :D burn the flags :D burn the votes :D eat the whales :D :D

Nice discussion going on here , will check it out later. Maaan this steemit is draining the life out of me and it wants more and more :D

Don't worry Krnel, after Steeminc changes N SQUARED to linear, then the whales will be more powerless against you, and you will be able to milk maximize your daily STEEM harvest by posting 10-20 posts per day!

Personally I love the flags, nails, etc. Always have always will. I would flag this comment if I could (fork that STEEMINC!). Who would have thought that they would lift the spam filter just to try to convince more people to show up?

Besides me 10 months ago of course?

https://steemit.com/steem/@steemjesus/make-money-with-steem-in-3-easy-steps--no-creativity-required-

Now, instead of 5000 people spamming the chain, we have 3 because that's exactly the way they wanted it.

Removing N^2 will make us minnows more powerful after now that the spam filter is removed and we can post endlessly.

yay time to pack the bags and swim the sea of trash and oil :|

OMG - still discussing? Cooperate on the community behalf - what shall newbies think?

nope nobody saw it :D oh just me I guess a quick heads up comments a like posts, you can right click the time and copy the link then delete everything between the category and the hash therefore your comment will show up as a post :) so

https://steemit.com/flagging/@uwelang/re-krnel-bad-whales-pt-2-bernisanders-flagging-posts-for-no-real-reason-20170224t133218250z

aaand 1 view :)

Thanks mate :-) @j3dy - can learn from you

fun times, i hope :D what are you up to btw :) lots of beer :), btw I did get a great bottle last day :D sadly a bit overpriced, maybe pull some strings and get more of that awesome German Brew's around the globe, send me a drone if that doesn't work :) actually are you up for a "game" wanna try making a beer delivery drone :D it would be better watching the whale wars from afar :D

nice idea on the beer drone

I will be downvoting this if it still has rewards later as a pointless whine about not earning and a personal attack against another user for voting as he sees fit. Get over yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65