You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bad Whales Pt.2 @bernisanders Flagging Posts for No Real Reason

in #flagging7 years ago

Maybe we need a bot to post a comment on the newbie accounts posts that get flagged for the first time? Maybe everyone below 100 SP and time since first post < 1 or 2 months. Just with a little explainer. Basically doing what you did but automatically.
Or maybe that's fighting fire with fire, which, though sounds good in movies, burns the whole place down 😅

Your idea is not bad. I'd love to see a way where there was no need for a down vote, yet there are some cases where it is needed.

As ultimately whether someone likes Anchovies or not does not mean I run around yanking Anchovies off of the shelves in super markets because I don't like it. Also me walking around saying that is too expensive and pulling out my marker to reduce the price of someone elses product doesn't work either.

Why is there a down vote that does these things? The answer to that is because none of us (including Dan) have come up with a way to do it that wouldn't open the door to even more gaming of the system. Worse there would be no way to check that gaming.

I don't fight fire with fire. I don't believe that someone doing wrong means I should do wrong back. I use words, and reason. These days that may not always work, and usually it doesn't. Yet sometimes it does.

Sort:  

I mean they more or less say in the whitepaper they want more crabs in the bucket, i.e this kind of crabs pulling crabs down is part of the original idea for the system.

The goal of building a community currency is to get more “crabs in the bucket”.

You're right, Dan doesn't seem to have a better idea, personally I think they're satisfied with it as it currently stands.

Though I like the big ideas, practical small steps are what I do, I'm not a big person. I'm the guy pulling people out of fights and making sure they don't get killed in real like. Not butting in to resolving deputes but trying to help in a small way.

On your anchovies analogy, I think if a system is premised on power as the means and ends of action then this kind of thing is bound to happen.

And I definitely don't believe in fire with fire. I think words still work. Reason? I'm not so sure! 😅

I've logged the idea here anyway in the Steem FOSSbot ideas list 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64349.87
ETH 2775.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65