Flag war de-escelation: taking a leaf out of Aggroed's book

in #flag7 years ago (edited)

2DUYkhJ.jpg

For the past two days a member of Steemit has been accusing the #MinnowSupportProject of being 'scammers'. This began when the member was banned from PALnet for using the upvote bots to vote on plagiarised content. The same user had previously delegated a little SP to MinnowSupport and was demanding that it be returned. Their initial 0.002 Steem that they used to sign up to MinnowSupport was returned - despite their first upvote giving them at least $0.30 in upvotes. @r0nd0n also sent them 0.002 SBD.

gellany5.JPG

As you can see in the top memo, they do not comprehend that THEY are in charge of their delegation and can withdraw it at any time - subject to a seven day wait.

A quick look through their wallet you can see messages sent to other members of MSP with 0.001 SBD.

gellany4.JPG

@gellany began flagging members' posts indiscriminately and wrote several posts with accusations that we are scammers. I freely admit that when the flags started appearing on my posts it got my back up; all my posts from the past seven days were flagged. He also targeted @followbtcnews, @swelker101, @discordiant, @r0nd0n and @crimsonclad.

gellany3.JPG

Despite his flags having no effect on my post values I retaliated and returned in kind, flagging his posts down to $0.00 last night before I went to sleep. However, overnight I have thought about my actions. I would rather not flag anyone, and usually only do so with obvious plagiarised content.

I decided to take @aggroed's advice and to back out of this mini flag war by removing my flags. I fully expect all my future posts to be flagged by @gellany and that is ok. It does little to affect my account and this all started over an obvious misunderstanding. The P in PALnet stands for Peace. I intend to practice what we preach. Please do not retaliate by flagging any comments this post may receive. Thank you.


Image Source


Proud member and supporter of the #minnowsupportproject - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut
Click HERE to learn more


Sort:  

And now gellany is targeting me

I agree that flagging this guy for his complete ignorance about the Minnow Support Project is not the way to go. This is a very confused, frustrated, and angry person that legitimately believes he has somehow been wronged. He probably lacked the ability to understand what MSP (or steemit for that matter) is actually for, and now he lacks the ability to understand how to undelegate the 2 SP he loaned to @minnowsupport.

I was notified by @steeminator3000 within minutes of his very first post concerning the "Minnow Support scammers", and this was my reply:

While I was a bit harsh in tone, my initial reaction was fueled by the abuse of the minnow bots for plagiarized spam content. There are a lot of people, myself included, loaning their SP to this community, so it's hard to not take it personal when confronted with these types of users.

He also found his way to both channels on my @freezepeach discord server. If you want to take the time to read his comments in there, you'll find him blowing off steam in a most confusing fashion that almost makes me wonder if this isn't some dedicated troll pretending to be stupid.

"makes me wonder if this isn't some dedicated troll pretending to be stupid."

Yes! His wording is ridiculously yet inconsistently horrendous. I share this suspicion.

Because u gold u have project minnowsupport helping people lalapalaplap

😁

I understand the frustration when someone attacks what you worked so hard for. I agree flagging is not the way. the point has been made(probably the user will not listen), and the worst is if you let it drain your energy. Ignore and forget might be the best for now.

Well, this is the Internet. There is always someone out there who will start flaming others, no matter what. Kind of reminds me of the era when I used to hang out on IRC (Internet Relay Chat) channels using mIRC / kVirc. I think there will always be trolls and people who will get mad at something no matter what. Guess we all have to take things with a little grain of salt.

Just don't waste your $$$ here. Eventually (((they))) will twitter this site but they're more than likely waiting for another group to buy them out. The (((stevebalmer))) effect

Hats off to you for being the bigger person.
I myself have dealt with a situation like this before, I was not having accusations made against me but a troll who was trying to instigate a flag war... in which he would have lost badly. As badly as I wanted to get at him to "teach him a lesson" I had a lot of people tell me to just ignore him, his flags have no effect, and he will soon get tired of it not bothering me and stop.

Some new users do not understand what flags can do to their rep as well as their content. Although some people should get them and deserve them, I try my best to now be the bigger person in those situations. Save the flags for only when necessary, and you know that it is worth it.

Great read, up-voted, and re-steemed.

Thank you.

Silly flag wars do nothing to improve the platform.

I couldn't agree more... now I just leave it to SteemCleaners to take care of the trash lol

I just want to say thanks for everything PALnet and Minnow Support does. There are always going to be people who get their backs up about something. But I just want you and all the other people who work so hard to make PALnet feel like a nice safe home to hang out to know that your hard work and dedication is appreciated!

Thank you very much

I'll happily negate any flag that lands your way darling

Thanks, but there really is no need. I don't see what their objective is as it has no effect on my posts.

This takes a brave person to admit that flagging for just, without just cause is not a path of value.

Although, I do flag -- I do my best to restrict it to folks that are attacking other for unjust reasons. I have seen the most fascinating issues over the past two weeks.

I am not quite sure what folks expect when they join large groups. Greed is never the answer.

In this case I think it would be best for the community to see these posts attacking MSP and the obvious misunderstanding regarding delegation.

What the hell! why someone be doing that! trust me just when I was getting lost in this big platform @minnowsupport came in my notice. I will always support it from core of my heart!

Your support is appreciated.

MSP deserves that! :)

Good on you for sleeping on it. Rage flagging gives only a momentary sense of satisfaction:)

Good on ya dude for being the bigger man.
Sadly this kind of thing is going to happen, just gotta rise above it as you have.
Well done Muxxy.

It does nothing but put the community in a poor light.
Thanks dude

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49