Five Nuggets from Uncle Faust (Episode 5)

in #fivenuggets7 years ago

bestsellers_nuggets.png

Five nuggets is a series inspired by an accidental collision with a similar project by Tim Ferris, author of The 4 Hour Work Week and Tools for Titans. In this weekly series, I share five things which caught my interest this week through my wanderings, web surfing, researching and time spent on Steemit.

Without further ado, five nuggets which caught my attention this week:

Is the Universe Consciousness (Panpsychism)?

https://www.nbcnews.com/mach/science/universe-conscious-ncna772956

As I have reached middle age, it seems like the esoteric subjects of life once reserved for philosophers of an earlier era have become more prominent. As a self-ascribed agnostic, what consciousness is has always fascinated me.

Recently, Gregory Matloff, a veteran physicist at New York City College of Technology published a paper arguing a “proto-consciousness field” extends through all of space, implying even stars may be conscious entities which deliberately control their own path. Essentially, the entire cosmos is a self-aware entity. This new field is called panpsychism and it's not occupied totally by fringe crackpots – rather quite the opposite. Some of the most well-known proponents of this theory are the philosopher and cognitive scientist David Chalmers, neuroscientist Christof Koch of the Allen Institute for Brain Science, and British physicist Sir Roger Penrose, renowned for his work on gravity and black holes.

Amazing stuff.

Steemit Featured Post: Meet The Man Who Slept With Thousand Of Celebrities (10+ Pics)

https://steemit.com/sleep/@shafayehossain/meet-the-man-who-slept-with-thousand-of-celebrities-10-pics

I absolutely enjoy excellently, unintended Photoshop FAIL photos. It warms the cockles of my heart and makes my day feel complete each time I come across one. Call it a guilty pleasure.

In this particular feature, it’s an absolute smorgasbord of epic Photoshop skills as one man inserts himself into a series of celebrity photos in only the most awesomely compromising positions. Truly awesome find.

Living on Bitcoin for a Week (Morgan Spurlock)

http://morganspurlock.com/

I first came across Morgan Spurlock when I was introduced to the movie Supersize Me and became hooked on his work (30 Days, Failure Club, The Greatest Movie Ever Sold, etc.) and partly inspired both my Subcultures and Social Trends and Deeper Dives series. I find him to be one of the best documentary film producers in the market today.

In this one-hour documentary piece, we get to look back to a time when Bitcoin was only $600 USD and still considerably outside the mainstream. We have the opportunity to see Morgan Spurlock attempt to live one week on Bitcoin alone. Bask in the nostalgia.

Stone Made of “Pure Oxygen” Found in Africa

For any who have played the game World of Warcraft, it would appear the Skystone actually does exist. In 1990 Italian geologist Angelo Pitoni found an unusual blue stone with white lines while visiting Sierra Leone. After sending samples of the stone to the Institute of Natural Sciences in Geneva, Switzerland and Universite la Pienza in Rome, it was determined to be a substance which did not correspond to any known mineral and was composed of 77% Oxygen.

Why have I not stumbled across at least one in my numerous visits to the Ripley’s Odditorium?

The Atlantic Magazine Life Timeline. Explore Your Life in History

https://www.theatlantic.com/timeline/

Seems more and more as I go into tourist traps, card shops, and Cracker Barrels, and I see small booklets showing me everything historic which happened the year I was born. It's convenient nostalgia with a dash of ageism to keep us all humble.

The Life Timeline project is, in my opinion, something infinitely more effective because it shows curated historical life events which have occurred from the time you were born, through the present day and into known future events. For instance, my future timeline brightened my day by informing me when I turn 57, humanity’s water requirements will exceed potable water sources by 40%.

Optimism at its finest.

Growing old never made the future seem so bright before.

That concludes my #fivenuggets for this week’s episode. Take care my Steemitland friends and until next time…


If You Enjoyed This Edition of Five Nuggets, Check Out Some Previous Editions

Sort:  

The myth of quantum consciousness sits well with many whose egos have made it impossible for them to accept the insignificant place science perceives for humanity, as modern instruments probe the farthest reaches of space and time. ... quantum consciousness has about as much substance as the aether from which it is composed. Early in this century, quantum mechanics and Einstein’s relativity destroyed the notion of a holistic universe that had seemed within the realm of possibility in the century just past. First, Einstein did away with the aether, shattering the doctrine that we all move about inside a universal, cosmic fluid whose excitations connect us simultaneously to one another and to the rest of the universe. Second, Einstein and other physicists proved that matter and light were composed of particles, wiping away the notion of universal continuity. Atomic theory and quantum mechanics demonstrated that everything, even space and time, exists in discrete bits – quanta. To turn this around and say that twentieth century physics initiated some new holistic view of the universe is a complete misrepresentation of what actually took place. ... The myth of quantum consciousness should take its place along with gods, unicorns, and dragons as yet another product of the fantasies of people unwilling to accept what science, reason, and their own eyes tell them about the world.

Your five Nuggets series is very interesting and I get a lot of knowledge from it. Thanks for sharing.

@shirish5 thanks for stopping by to check out my weekly #fivenuggets series. I do appreciate my regular readers. Thanks for following and supporting.

It is valuable post . 100% like and resteem
@lpfaust

wow 77% oxygen? How it that even possible?

@brothermic I'm not a geologist, so I have absolutely no idea. However, you can see why it landed on my #fivenuggets this week. I thought it was incredibly cool.

@lpfaust the Atlantic Magazine life is timeline about How will history remember your lifetime? Drawing on its 160-year archives, the Atlantic has found a way to give each of its readers an answer to that question??
Am I right!!

@ragwendra that would be correct and why I thought it was absolutely one of the coolest things I stumbled upon this week.

@lpfaust,
Today is the 1st time I understood about this series! Actually I thought this was a TV series lol :D Mistakes happen nah :D
Great work friend! Nice 5 topics and excellent writing! Thank you very much for sharing with us! Really appreciate your effort!

Cheers~

@theguruasia thanks for checking out my weekly #fivenuggets series. I appreciate the support.

This series is all about the five things which caught my interest that particular week (from Thursday to Wednesday). Could be on Steemit, the internet as a whole, real life, etc. - it's not site or medium (internet, books, etc.) specific.

This happens to be my absolute favorite series to write at the moment.

@lpfaust,
Actually this is a great idea! A perfect idea! I am a big fan of this series!

Cheers~

nicely explained and will look forward to five nuggets series

@rehan12 thanks for checking out #fivenuggets this week. You can check out new episodes every Wednesday.

of course will do buddy

i make sure that i don't miss any post in this series this is too good :)

@cityslicker thanks for stopping by t catch each new episode of #fivenuggets. I appreciate it.

@lpfaust - 5 nugget. Love your work Sir. It seems very interesting series to me. Therefore, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

@steemwija my thanks for your patronage.

good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65