Five Facts About A Panama Mama

in #fivefacts7 years ago

@filotasriza3 tagged me to participate in the 5 Facts About Me Challenge and today is the day!

Fact #1 - I am a big Gilmore girls fan.

I have seen every episode, including the most recent year in review, although it was not my favorite. I am definitely on #teamjess and like Lorelai and Luke together. I don't really like some of the storylines, but I really like the relationship between Lorelai and Rory. I have all 7 seasons on DVD, but with it being available on Netflix, I usually watch it that way. While packing up our house to move to Panama, this was my show of choice. I probably watched all 7 seasons.

room-2559790_640.jpg
Source

Fact #2 - My husband and I met on the bus in 8th grade.

We met on the bus in 8th grade, signed each others' yearbooks and had a class or two together in high school. He said it was Chemistry, but we definitely did not have chemistry, if you know what I mean. When I was fresh out of college and teaching my first year of Spanish at the middle school in my hometown, he showed up during my worst class, just to say "Hi." He had looked me up and found out where I was and came to see me. We talked on the phone for a year while he was finishing his Master's degree. Then he moved into the house I was renting while my lease ran out. I still saw us as friends and he saw us as more. Shortly after that, we went our separate ways for about 5 years.

school-bus-2645085_640.jpg
Source

Fact #3 - I told my husband I wanted to date him in hopes of marrying him on our first date.

When I returned from living in Mexico for a year and a half, I looked him up and we went out a few times. He then asked me what I was calling him for. We went to a restaurant and I had to let him know that I wanted to date and eventually marry him. Yes, that was our first "official" date and we were talking marriage. A few short months later, we were married and have been for 11.5 years!

person-2248567_640.jpg
Source

Fact #4 - I have been pregnant, breastfeeding or diapering children for the last 10 years.

I literally have had no break in the last 10 years except for 10 days when we took a husband and wife trip to Israel. Shortly upon returning, back to diaper duty and pregnant soon after. That is a lot of diapers, my friends! Strangely enough, our last child has no interest in potty training, although I am sure it will happen someday. Ha.

bimbo-1502536_640.jpg
Source

Fact #5 - I went skydiving and hated it.

When my husband and I were newly married and without children, he convinced me to go skydiving. I went tandem, but he jumped out on his own. I hated the sensation of falling as well as gliding down on the parachute. I kept thinking it would be a hard crash if one of those lines broke on the way down. I landed and then my husband landed in a field a little ways away. It was insane and I never plan to go again. I also went parasailing in Acapulco and really hated that.

skydiving-2717505_640.jpg
Source

What about you? Tell me 5 facts about you! I would love to hear them. If you want to do this challenge, consider yourself tagged!

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Challenge accepted. My wife and i met on the bus too! We were in 6th grade. I wrote her a note asking if she would "go with me" I learned years and years later, she went home and burned the note! Fast forward to my junior year we started dating! Persistence pays off!

Nice! :) That's pretty funny that she burned the note. Man, that's a serious..."no" there. ;) I'll look forward to your five facts! :)

That's awesome. Can't say I ever received a marriage proposal on a first date! But a very sweet and candid post.

Thanks! Yeah, I think he might have been pretty surprised, but I had to do it because he wasn't sticking around for someone who was "just a friend." Lol. ;)

An awesome set of facts.

Is your husband on steemit too?

Yes, but he rarely posts - @panamapilgrim. I keep trying to get him to post more, but alas, he spends his time elsewhere. ;) Thanks for stopping by!

You should get him to do a Five Facts post and see how they compare...

It is highly unlikely that he would do a post like that! Ha! ;)

Haha, well now we know you better @apanamamama! I would never ever agree to go Sky Diving or Parasailing!

Yeah, the week after I went parasailing in Acapulco, it made the news because a tourist who was parasailing died when they slammed into the side of a hotel!! Yeah, both of those are supposed to be fun floating feelings, but they're terrifying!!

Ha,ha, well my son tried tandem skydiving when he was 19 or 20, because a friend of his living in CA offered to pay for it while he was there visiting. He said it was pretty terrifying, but I think he kind of liked it, except his contacts were forced out of his eyes into his goggles and he didn't get to enjoy the view!!

Yikes! That sounds pretty horrible about the contacts!! I know that couldn't have been a pleasant feeling. The only part of sky diving I liked was walking off of the landing spot.

How many munchkins, if you don't mind me asking? We just had our first! Ten years is some duty. I enjoy the sweet long-lasting "school sweetheart" stories. Y'all seem like a fantastic family. Cheers to that! I've always wanted to go sky diving and just haven't done it yet...

Congrats on your first. I have 5 - aged 9, 8, 6, 4, 2. :) Hence the 10 years of all things fun. ;) Don't go sky diving. Ever. Never. :) That's my advice.

Haahahahahaha, and thank you. You have your hands full Mama! Congratulations on yours! I....think... I might still jump out of a perfectly good airplane one day :)

Lol - yes, we have a lot going on around our house. Thankfully they all have a built in playmate this way. So in some ways, it makes our lives easier... ;) If you do jump out of a plane, I hope you enjoy it!!!

True, true. Maybe I should hurry up on number 2 ;). Thank you, also.

Well I knew one of the five, so it was very interesting to learn the 4 others. I can see no good coming from jumping out of a perfectly good airplane, I would probably have a different opinion if it was out of fuel or the engine stopped, but I have no desire or need to skydive. So I am in your camp on that one.

Lol - yes, skydiving is definitely not one of my favorite things we've done before. Not something I plan to do again. My brother went with us when we went skydiving (at sky dive dallas). He brought his girlfriend along. Then he convinced her to do it again and proposed to her after their second dive. So crazy.

yes you took the challenge! what a great love story and i liked the fact that you said straight about marriage especially when it's coming from a woman, it's too rare and at the same time too good, i hoped the girls i have dated to tell me at least their intentions in the first date!

i also have done skydiving and i hated :p

Our previous "friend" history had been enough that we had gotten to know each other really well. I just wasn't ready at the time to consider him dating material. But then looking back on that time, I knew that he was the right man for me. ;) Ha. I don't think I would have done this under normal circumstances, but he thought I led him on before, so if I wanted him to stick around, I had to make a bold move.

this should be taught at universities to the future wives :p

Thanks for sharing @apanamamama. That was certainly 5 very interesting facts about you. And I m glad your first official date with your husband went very well. To stay married for more than 11 years and still going strong aint easy

Lol. Yep, an interesting date. I wish I remember what we ordered, but I know the restaurant. For a few years after that, we would go back to the same place and have dinner. So fun. :) And then...kids. ;) Thanks for stopping by!

Following you now.

Not really the best way to get attention...especially if you really don't follow that person. Ginabot tells me when someone new starts following me and she didn't mention your name... Hm.

oops. Was not intentional. Thought I had hit follow.

Lol - :) Yeah, Gina let me know. I love Gina. She's such a useful bot.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #14 (1/12/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66