How crossfit changed my life?

in #fitspiration6 years ago

My crossfit journey began in May 2015. Crossfit is something new to me when it comes to working out. Before, I would just go to regular gyms, swimming, running and most of the time Zumba. But it comes to a point where I was already looking for something more, something that’s more challenging, and something that is worth those pain and sweat. It was actually the first time I have heard of it when a close friend forced me to try out because unfortunately, she’s a Coach, so what the heck why not try it.
First day was hell. I could not even do the squats. I haven’t even tried squats. Run, lunges, jump, more squats and say hello to burpees. Everything was so new to me. Everything sounds scary and deadly. I was running out of breath. I was about to puke and pass out but hell yeah, I survived the first day. I thought that was it, but the worst part is when you wake up the next day, I could not even move. Everything was so painful and my legs are like jelly. Even sitting down in the toilet is agonizing. But later on I realized, the sweat and pain, was it worth it? Yes it was, because after that 1 hour workout, I felt good about myself.
So I enrolled the beginners’ class. My main goal before was for me to lose weight. I was really not fat or obese but I’m not comfortable with my weight. I didn’t feel good about myself. The next thing I knew, I got addicted to Crossfit. The 3 times a week becomes 4 times and becomes every day. I really felt good every after working out and I was really happy of the outcome.
And then I got heartbroken with my 5 year relationship. I was devastated. I thought a part of me died. I started to question myself, what have I and have not done? So I’m back to not feeling good again and out of shape. I stopped working out and went back to alcohol and smoking. I thought that was the only way for me to get out of the misery, to forget and to stop the pain that I’m feeling. However a friend motivated me to go back to Crossfit and try out the advance class. She said it’s more challenging and I could try the barbells. I hesitated at first. My reason “I do not want to look bulky.” And so she explained, it’s a fallacy that woman who lift weights would look bulky.
And so I enrolled the advanced class. I kept myself busy with working out, with training, staying in the box (Crossfit gym) longer than usual. I was getting better and I was looking better. I looked fit and strong and back to feeling good about myself again. Later did I know, I wasn’t thinking about the ex and the failed relationship anymore. I guess it took a while before I realized that I am stronger than I expected to be.
For me, Crossfit did not only make me feel good about myself but it made me strong inside and out. Crossfit pushed me to my limits and more. The squats that I dread the first day are now my favorite routine. Lifting barbells is now my stress reliever. Now, my goal is to unlock all crossfit movement – handstand push-ups, handstand walk, strict pull ups, muscle ups and rope climbing. Yes, they sound scarier but I got scared before, but hey, I still did it. And I’m looking forward for more.
“You never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have.”
-Bob Marley -
Facebook-20180127-093141.jpgFacebook-20180127-091646.jpgFacebook-20180127-092743.jpg

Sort:  

The crossfit community helps as well. Just like you crossfit helped me get off of a lot of bad habits, drinking, diet etc. Been doing it just as long as you have. Granted, there are going to be days where you just don't want to do it but every single time afterwards you never regret it no matter how painful the WOD was. Good luck on the next workout, whether it be Fran, Angie, or Murph. 3...2...1.... goooooo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43