I completed the 100 Situp Fitness Challenge!

And it was a lot of fun. I chose to compete at the Beginner level (accumulating 100 sit-ups over the course of the challenge) so I could practice an advanced sit-up skill. That skill is one I managed to develop due to my hand and then wrist injuries. Basically, I couldn't do any lifting or cage work so I spent three months working on my core. That's generalizing things a bit, but lo and behold, I went from struggling with regular touch-your-toes sit-ups to knocking out sit-ups on the GHD like it weren't no thang.


IMG_1111.JPG
Upside down
IMG_1112.JPG
Right side up

But it was. I told myself I'd never even try the GHD. I didn't want to because I'd had a severe abdominal hernia and seeing people complete sit-up from an upside-down position just made me hear rrrrrrrip.

Watching my friends in CrossFit classes slay the GHD beast made me think, "Hanging upside down looks really fun!" So I tried that and had to get out of being upside down, which meant sitting up. There you have it. First GHD sit-up. And it was easy so I knocked out four more while wondering who I was and how it was happening.


How it's done.

I love love love being upside down. Since I can't do handstand work, the GHD has been my best friend. I work on it nearly every day even if just to hang backwards for a nice core stretch.

Thank you to @coachjj for posting a great Fitness Challenge. I loved participating and can't wait for the next one.

What unexpected skills have you discovered?

Recent Posts

Sort:  

Whoo Hooooo! You're awesome! I really need to start my actual exercise habits up again and be more consistent at it. You're inspiring :)

Thank you! These are a lot of fun. I think you already follow @coachjj. We can be a team on the next challenge maybe @byn?

I don't think I am following @coachjj yet, but I will do so right now. I would LOVE to have someone to workout 'with' and be on your team! That would be awesome! (I'm silly excited at the thought. I am such a dork sometimes)

This is a brilliant idea, you guys! The next challenge will have a Team option!

great, you only need to practice martial arts and you will be the wonder woman ;-)

Or Buffy the Vampire Slayer. ;) She's my superhero of choice.

Hahaha better yet, sexy and super powerful

You are really a hardworking women. 💪💪💪

You sure inspired all the ladies. 👍👍👍

Thank you for nice sharing. 👏👏👏

Hahaaa!!!! I could feel your sense of enthusiast in this fitness challenge.
You look strong and healthy too. Well done. @shawnamawna. 👏👏👏

I LOVE exercise! And it's been a long haul getting my body to a point I can truly enjoy the challenge of it.

Congrats on your achievement! That GHD sounds like fun—I enjoy a nice core stretch, myself. :D

It's such a great feeling. I wish I could have made it to the gym today to just hang out for awhile.

Are we saying unexpected skills? Ermmm..
Let's say I've discovered that I can do the soccer thing pretty well than I thought(poetry usually consumed my time).
But I love this fitness thing pretty well too. To me, fitness is both a psychology than physical thing(I am not saying yoga). It helps you keep a balance(As you asked in your previous post how we pursue our balance? well let's say I do fitness too. It keeps depression at bay and help put that warm smile on my face) and physically, it goes a long way in keeping the doctor away.

Agreed on all points. Exercise requires commitment, dedication and humility. There's a a lot of psychology to it.

100 sit-ups. Congratulations and OWWW!

Ow indeed. Especially when I laugh, which this comment made me do. Just bonus core work.

Way to go!! Just thinking about hanging upside down makes me dizzy, so I am in awe of you.

I love being upside down. Monkey bars were my favorite when I was a kid.

I liked going across on the monkey bars, but upside down just doesn't jive well with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34