Steem Fitness Challenge Update!

Has it been 2 weeks already since the last post? Unfortunately I don't have any progress to report, I've been lucky to tread water and hold steady over the holiday!


Source

I've only been out running twice since the last post as well, we've had a cold snap here and it's consistently -25C and over -30 with the windchill, so even I haven't been braving running outside. I have been doing some indoor circuit training up and down the stairs at work on nights though so It's something at least. My weight is actually up 1lb since 2 weeks ago and I was sitting at 186 this am. I have seen no change in my resting heart rate and currently sitting at 61 BPM.

The holidays are though, with all the parties and snacks everywhere, for me work was the worst, there was always mountains of snacks and desserts to eat, but not that's it's over it's time to kick it into high gear, there's only about 8 week remaining and I have some big goals to meet.

My final goals where resting HR under 55, Weight under 180lbs and running pace of 5:30min/km. I'm most worried about the running pace, I seam to have hit a wall at the 6 min/km point. I'm hoping some of the work on the stair cases and other power work will translate well. I know I said it before too, but I also think some more High Intensity Interval Cardio will help me to kick it up a notch.


Source

I know there were some people waiting till after the holidays to join so I'll give everyone a contest recap

Anyone can still join the challenge at any time. It's more of a personal goal setting to keep yourself motivated. You pledge 3 goals in 3 different categories, Weight Loss, Resting Heart Rate and Exercise. You also pledge an amount of SBD that will keep you motivated. If you reach your goal your money will be returned to you (and maybe more, because if you don't reach your goals you forfeit that amount to the other competitors). There is also a head to head challenge in which the winners that make the biggest improvements will win the remaining pot.

There is additional money added to the pot in the form of these Post payouts committed by @phelimint, and if anyone else wants to send any additional donation it would be greatly appreciated as well.

Currently I am holding a pot of 140SBD (50 pledge from @phelimint, pledge from @dkid14, 10 from @buggedout) +(30SBD added from post payouts) + (There are two other competitors that haven't sent the pledge money to be held yet @carrieallen Pledge 25USD, and @byn pledged 10SBD)

Here's a better break down of the contest metrics.

Percentage Weight Loss


We would just use the total amount lost, divided by starting weight to determine everyone's percentage of loss for comparison.

Resting Heart Rate


I think this is the simplest marker of health and fitness for everyone to use, we would just once again use the percentage of change over the course of the competition.

Running/Exercise Time


I was thinking of lastly using a percentage of improvement to a few standard options for exercise. Like a 5km walk/run (outside/treadmill) or something we decide is equivalent in a swim, bike or any other stationary equipment. Something that takes approx 30 minutes as a baseline. We can use pace or total time to complete or distance covered in 30 minutes or whatever you prefer as long as we keep it consistent for each participant.

The contest ends on 5th of March 2017, so there's still more than enough time to get involved and make some changes, especially since I'm hearing everyone tanked over the holidays anyways!


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Yes it's so much helpful to us.

First of all, great initiative!

But man, -25 degrees? I thought it was cold in Sweden haha, barely goes under -10 where I live. Luckily I'm at my house in Thailand right now so can avoid the cold and go for long runs in the lush mountains instead ;)

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around!💯

Thx for the awesome feedback man, I'll check out your feed. Tropical temperatures sound terrible to me. Yuck.

Yeah, around the holidays it's SO hard to keep a fitness goal -- at least for me. There's always snacks, deserts etc tempting you at every corner. Really cool what you're doing.

Thx man, if you need any extra motivation be sure to join up!

Thanks for sharing this with us, happy new year

Time to step it up in 2018. I'm excited to really hit it hard this week. Update post coming soon.

Oh yeah, definitely time to put it in high gear now that the holidays are past

I finally got to the gym today and will take my metrics tomorrow but I think I went backwards. December is tough!

Saw it man, looks like you held steady at least.

I was okay during the holidays, but the road trip and visit back to my hometown was killer. I did learn that my anxiety triggers my major binge eating habits that I thought I had kicked, so at least I know to pay more attention next time?

I haven't made much progress, but at least I haven't regressed? Does that count???

Oh yeah, that counts for sure. I think Carrie is the only one that did good over the holidays.

It totally counts! I think that IS progress. 😍

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Here's my check-in post:
🏋🏻FITNESSCHALLENGE 🏋🏻 Update: 4 weeks down

Feeling pretty good. 😍

I might be down for this. Will have to get a fitness device to track my progress though.
What do you use?
The Samsung Fit 2 looks great but is sold out everywhere in my area.
I was thinking of the Fitbit blaze but it doesnt have GPS capabilities, you would have to have your phone with you if you go for a bike or a run.

I just use my phone with a cheap wahoo heart rate band. I got a Fitbit ionic for Christmas but I'll likely still use the mapmyfitness app with my chest strap, i like the voice feedback, plus I like having all my run data stored in a single place and don't like change... lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48