Getting back in shape- Join me!

in #fitness6 years ago

Tired of bodybuilders telling you “how to get rock hard abs in 4.5 days”? Rubber made Yogis selling you dvd’s on “how to do the splits in 45 minutes”?? Like... dude!, you’ve clearly been training for years. While I appreciate your knowledge, your advertisement is pure bullshit AND it certainly does not fit my schedule, lifestyle, stamina or skill.

I often hear people saying they won’t go to my yoga class (or any yoga class) because “they are not flexible”. And I often think that’s ridiculous, because that’s the perfect reason TO GO.

Until!!!! I saw an add for a class, the picture on it was beautiful woman with perfetctly toned arms doing an incredibly deep back bend, while biting on an apple. And I thought to myself “I can’t do that class, i’m not that flexible”

BOOM!



While I think it’s great to show the potential a practice can offer, I think the advertisements have gotten so extreme to the point of being intimidating. I don’t want to feel inadequate and unskilled in a room full of back bending godesses!

Truth is, very few people can do what you see in the pictures, because those people on the photos train for years or since they were very young! Most likely if you show up to a fitness class you will find a lot people just like you and me struggling to get to the 10th sit up. There will also be those who have leveled up and are starting to get more skilled, 10 sit ups are just a warm up! Well that’s great! That’s encouraging; I can look forward to 10 easy sit ups, YES!!

I do enjoy working out. However, and here’s where I get really honest, I greatly slacked in my training all 2017, and what was the result? A cushy midsection I've never had in my life and that I personally don't like on me.

I'll just go ahead and admit it. I got cocky. And once I was in great shape I stopped working for it. As if it was something you can purchase and it’s now yours. Well reality check for this young (yes young@) lady.

It's not all about looks though. I don't feel as strong as I was. My energy level definitely decreased. The motivation to do other things lowered by not having the energy. My skin doesn’t look as great. And my digestive system got... well.. slower. You really need to know all this.

So what’s my point?



Work out with me!! I’m no fitness model, and I am no flexibility miracle. I am someone who works 8 hours at a desk and wants to go after achievable results.

So here I am. Challenging myself to get back in shape. And sharing my workouts for motivation for both, me and you.

13590276_10153669730291895_2605662516211036222_n.jpg

I'll be posting my workout sessions, and pictures so we can see the progress over time.

This will be a mix of strength training, cardio and yoga. And I expect to make it fun with good music and original moves EVEYONE can do. No equipment necessary. Maybe a couple props we can make from items in the house.

But I believe that if we put in the work and keep it consistent, we will start seeing results fairly quickly. Subtle but real!!

So..... who’s in??? Even if it’s just to cheer me up??
Also I welcome and encourage requests

Let's do this!!

0pzfiig7xd9kx76p685.png

Sort:  

Nice to see you back. :)

<3 Thank you!! you too, I see you're more active again :)

Haha great point! It was the same trying to learn a language...all these books and services promising "Japanese in 10 minutes a day!" "Japanese in 1 month!" "Japanese for Busy People!" "Easy Japanese". In the end, the only really useful books were textbooks with alot of grind and no flare, no promises. Those books weren't even offered in the book stores either, had to order them online.

Good luck! You got this! It actually IS easy to do anything, you just need to put in the effort and use the best methods which you will find in time.

hahahaha I own many of those books.... guitar, italian, french, even cooking. It does more damage than good by making you feel like a failure when you can't do what they claim you should be able to do!!! Thnx for the encouragement! I'm a firm believer in consistency, I think that's the key to anything.

=3 I am!!! back and determined! ;)

Mira quien decidió volver.

Me canseeeeeee de que no me rogaraaaaaaaaaaaaan!! jajajajaja
Ya.. no tuve un maravilloso comienzo de anio pero aqui estoy de vuelta. Un break de repente es necesario ;)

Calla! Yo rogué por mucho tiempo pidiendo que volvieras! Bienvenida de vuelta Valkiria!

jajaja mentiiiira!

Starting is the hardest part. I've been starting for three years now! I'm in, or at least I'll try.

AWESOME!!! Yeah! Let's do this!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

So well said, loved this! We all can find a way to exercise, and we most definitely don't have to look like bodybuilders to go to the gym or be able to do splits and deep back bends in order to attend a yoga class. We should never compare ourselves to others, instead, to our former selves, and we'll feel a whole lot better! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04