Journey of A Very Skinny Guy on His Path to Gaining Weight

in #fitnesslast year

1_NXcsSd1NFQ6URoj5XTDKhA.webp
Photo by Manuel Aldana on Pexels

I’ve been very skinny for quite some years, but it got worse in the last few months; I just got sick and tired of this, constantly getting ill and feeling too weak. This is enough!

If you also get the same comments:

You should eat more.

You look ill? Is there something wrong with you?

If you are also struggling to gain weight, consider me your brother in arms.

I started this journey around 7 to 8 months ago, but there was a time when I got ill (gut issues), and I lost all the weight I got in 4 months. All that hard effort was gone, and I lost even more weight, falling into a very dark rabbit hole on top of being very ill! When you think you have reached rock bottom, the universe digs a bigger hole as a reminder that there is always more space below. This is normal; just keep moving.

JOURNEY:
This is what I’m going to do:

Push-ups and Squats!
That’s it, simple as it gets!

No tools are needed for that, perfect!

For any journey you plan to follow, I highly suggest you keep things as simple as possible, define a clear path, and do something that is very easy to do, to keep excuses as far away as possible. Then you keep adding more tools or variations as time passes and as you get stronger.

CURRENT ROUTINE:

  • 180 push-ups daily, around 50 push-ups variation. (3 times a week)

  • 120 squats and around 100 leg variations. (3 times a week)

PLAN:
Increasing weight little by little:
Keep increasing the number of push-ups as well as the number of squats weekly, or as soon I feel they are getting easier; I will add 5 or 10 more; I don’t want to push too much to then get ill and go back to 0 again losing all my weigh.

Recovery times:
Be gentle, Have around two recovery days, and include yoga and some massages at the end of the day or during your routine sessions, then the most important recovery is sleep well.

Proper nutrition
Breakfast like a king, lunch like a queen, and dinner like a pauper.

Diet more paleo-like (Mainly eggs + veggies or fish + veggies, vegan days also).

Goals
SHORT-TERM GOALS:

  • Sticking to my plan for a few months (until it becomes a habit)

  • Do perfect basic callisthenic exercises (Push-ups, Squats)

  • Improve my ergonomics as I do my exercises.

  • Get to 400 push-ups daily (300 regular push-ups and 100 push-ups variation)

  • Get to 200 Squats daily + 200 variation|s (leg variation exercises.)

LONG-TERM (MAIN GOAL):

  • Getting into an optimal BMI.(18.5–24.9)

PROGRESS AND DATA:
This journey started around two months ago, but lazy me, I could not write it on time. So far, I got a little more than 1 kilo. I started at 15 push-ups (3 sessions), and I’m now at 30 push-ups (3 sessions).

Current BMI 15.2 (Underweight)

1_T1jeXVLDxcrqf1UWsGxUqQ.webp

Weight:

1_xZBjWbw5o9XVoWlgfQIPyg.webp
This is where I’m starting (110.672 pounds)

REPETITIONS:
REPETITIONS IS THE KEY here.
In this journey of gaining weight, we are not going anywhere unless we keep doing this over and over. I read (I think on a youtube comment) people were wondering how these inmates who are in prison with no equipment get so jacked and muscular. The answer is the REPETITION of exercises.

Life will fck you up (get used to it and move on)*
We all have failure times, and they should serve as lessons, quickly make a recovery learn from those mistakes, and move on and keep pushing; your whole life will be like that, so just get used to it.

Feedback is always welcome
I look forward to your comments and suggestions. Have you ever experienced the same problems? Do you have an exercise that you think I should include as I move on? Please feel free to share them with me and the readers.

Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59