Outrun the Sun (Fitness Diary 8/14/18)

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

I was never an athlete. In my high school gym class, students had to be able to run a 12 minute mile in order to pass the class- I had to do it three times. I seriously considered taking the F (and I was not a student who failed classes).

Fast forward to my 20's- I ended up walking to work through a mixture of bad (awful) driving and poverty. For the first time in my life I was half way in shape. I went vegetarian for a few years, trained to run a 5k.

Over a decade later, I'm back to feeling like I did in high school. I don't just eat my feelings, I gobble, inhale, cram, and nosh them. My mom was diagnosed with heart failure, there's been stress at home and at work. There ya go. In April or so I got about 6 weeks into the couch to 5k program, which uses intervals to gradually train people to run a 5k without stopping. I took a break for the move and life, but now I'm getting back on the treadmill. Every other day I'm doing the program, trying to work my way back up to week 6 by completing a week each day. When I'm not on the hamster wheel, I'm working the cycle. The new apartment has a fitness center. It's not fancy, but it's convenient.

One thing that I find motivational is listening to music. There are a couple of playlists floating around with decent music for the couch to 5k program, but it's never quite what I want to listen to when I'm running. So I'm learning to use audacity to create my own. Keep your fingers crossed for me- I'd like to stay motivated this time around, even after school picks up and things start getting hectic. Maybe I can learn to pound out emotions over noshing them.

Sort:  

i think it doesn't matter what kind of fitness you do, as long as you enjoy it! and yes, good music helps a lot :D

Running is fun for sure!

Nice!

Music has gotten me through everything! I am such a fan of it and am happy you're making killer playlists.

Me too! The playlists are helping a lot. Plus I'm learning some new tech, which is fun!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hell fuckin' YASSSSSSS. You got this 💪❤✨

Thank you lovely! I hope so. I'm feeling a little sore along my ankle so fingers crossed!

this is something i should do. im swimming in them

Doooooooooooo iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49