What to expect from your personal trainer... And why does it cost so much?

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

If you haven't ever trained with personal trainer, you probably have friends who tried. It's very trendy to have a trainer, all stars and celebities have, and it's getting more and more popular, and amount of personal trainers in society is increasing.

Before you start looking for your trainer, you will probably ask yourself few questions:

1. Should I even think about it?

Yes. People train with personal trainers for many reasons like lack of motivation, lack of knowledge, lack of technique, preparing for competitions, disabilities, and also just because they can. Is it for you? If you are in poor physical condition, you don't know how to reach your goal, you never trained - definitely yes. If you are in general physically active but nothing is changing - also yes, with few hours with trainer you will learn much more an much quicker than if you would try to do all this on your own. And probably you will avoid contusions.

2. Why does it cost so much?

Because they also want to have normal salary. Some people are machines, and they can train all day long, but not forever. Most of professionals can have 4-5 good quality trainings per day. Except that, they must constantly invest in their own trainings, diet, physiotherapists, renting a studio or paying to the gym and investing in courses which are very expensive. If you count how much it takes to be actually good personal trainer, it's not a cheap game.

pexels-photo-414029.jpeg
source

3. How to choose a good trainer?

Ask, check social media, look for recomendations. Only remember: good trainer is not this one who made your friend lose a lot of weight in 3 months and now she is anemic and has metabolic problems, it's not this one who kills you on the training so much that you can't move, it's not the one who has the prettiest social media pictures! Sometimes it's not even the one who has personal trainer certificate! Maybe he has many others and he is putting his knowledge all together. It's not the one with the biggest muscles. It will be the one who will take care of you, will adjust the training to you, help with diet and make it really personal. If he is checking facebook or chewing a gum while you sweat, kick him in the ass.
Of course having an university degree will be a big plus, but it shouldn't be the thing that makes you decide about choosing someone or not. If it's important to you, look for graduates of everything related to physical education, physiotherapists and dietitians.

4. What should I expect on my first training?

Well trainers have two strategies. On first training they will or: convince you to start training with them and make you tired, or will already start fixing your bad habits. How come?

First of all: the interview.
Good trainer won't start training before asking you about your current activity, diet, lifestyle, disabilities, health problems, setting up a goal and measuring you. The conversation itself can take even more than half hour, if it was skipped, don't bother with this trainer.
After warm up, good trainer should make you few tests, that will check your general condition, mobility and stability. What does it mean? He will try to track your movement patterns, looking for places to improve. We usually sit all day, so we have weakened back muscles, and shortened pectorals and hip adductors. Good trainer will start with streightening your core, showing you how to move, giving you full mobility where it's needed and working on stability where you lose it. It will be under the mask of your goal that is loosing or gaining weight - it doesn't really matter. Your body will follow. Depending on how bad it is, if you are experienced and active before, maybe two weeks - a month will be enough to teach you how to properly move and control your body, but sometimes it's even half year of work.


source

If you don't know if you have full correct motion range in some part of your body and you never trained with weigths, and trainer is giving you weights before you start controling mass of your own body, run away! Placing weight on something that doesn't work well is the easiest way to break it.

5. How fast can I lose/gain weight?

Actually very fast, but if you wan't to do it healthy it shoudln't be more than 0,5kg per week. Exceptions are allowed for vey owerweight people, who may lose up to few kilograms during first months of total lifestyle makeover. When can I expect results? Well if you never trained before, I would reccomend to check your stats after 6 weeks, usually for the first month never really happens (nothing visible for first sight), and new starters have problems with discipline.* I would say that for average person 1kg per month is reasonable amount.* Loosing weight this way will make your body get slowly adjusted to it and shouldnt affect your metabolism. Gaining weight this way will allow you to slowly build muscle mass without getting too fat.

6. What should I take with me?

Comfortable clothes, clean sport shoes, towel, big bottle of water and a lot of courage. If you have recent health check results, take them too and show to your trainer. Don't worry to open and talk about your goals and fears, you are doing first step to something great!

7. How long will I train with a trainer?

As long as you feel it's helping you. If you are more experienced, maybe it's good idea to meet with trainer only from time to time to check progress and learn new things. Don't be scared to go to many different trainers on the begining to see if you like this way of cooperation and if it really works for you. It doesn't have to be the best solution for everyone :)

Do you have your experience with personal trainers? Was it good or bad? And why? Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

My boyfriend is a personal trainer, so it's nice to show him this post, and have him agree with everything from a consumer point of view that you said. So important. 👌🏽👌🏽

I have many trainers friends and I know how this reality looks. I'm glad that a proffesional trainer agrees with my point of view :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by snowwhite from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Czesc, masz moze zamiar tlumaczyc potem post na polski? ;) swoja droga, udzielasz sie czasem na steemitchacie? i mam nadzieje, ze nie potraktujesz tego jako czepialstwa, ale podpowiem, ze jest ogromna roznica miedzy loose a lose - mozesz chciec ja wylapac. ;) zostawiam upboat

Nie potraktuję, wiem że jest i pewnie przeoczyłam :) Postaram się w najbliższym czasie przetłumaczyć, może będę w stanie dorzucić więcej szczegółów, bo trenerskie środowisko znam z ojczyzny przecież.
Dzięki za upboat ;)

A co do chatu - popsuł mi się, twierdzi że wpisuję złego użytkownika lub hasło, nie udaje się też hasła odzyskać, chyba będę musiała założyć nowe konto :(

I have all the information I need but still lack motivation. My problem is that only a couple of weeks into the training I begin to not go again and eventually dont go anymore. I would like more determination.

You have three ways ways:

  1. Negative visualisation - try to imagine what happens if you completely stop moving and how your body will feel and how bad it will be in one month, year, 10 years.
  2. Try to make it a habit - they say that you create a new habit after 21 days. Try to not think about it, noone needs to convince you to take shower or go to work even if your body doesn't really need it. Give yourself a try and put it as constant part of your day. Body gets used to endorphines as to all other drugs so it may work.
  3. To give yourself a trial, lets say you will train for 6 weeks, take before and after pictures. If you don't feel better after 6 weeks, you are justified to quit :)

Time will pass anyway, it depends from you how you use it!

Amazing post Martyna. When I started my fitness journey, my friend helped me a lot while selecting a personal trainer. At beginning he was my personal trainer during my cutting phase. The point being, people are not educated while selecting a personal trainer. I was lucky to have my friend. :)

kindly check my blog @rahul516. I write fitness stuff. Follow if you like it.
upvoted and followed.

That's great Rahul :) I saw your posts about workout, how about you write about back to basics? I saw too many people getting hurt even with bodyweight excercises because of being not preparet :)

I'm definitely planning to write about that, once I'm done with body-weight exercises. My articles are mainly for beginners, so that they can avoid the mistake I did. :)

I just realised you would prolly kick my trainer. :D ...so...i would like to add to this post. By my standards a good trainer is:

a.) Someone you can calmly wish a happy good sex life and occasionaly show him a bird in sign language and he doesn't take it to his heart.

b.) Someone who respects your certain issues - example: I don't want him to control my diet, I do not want to be measured, I do not want any kind of tables, etc....but I know he is there in case I change my mind (and he doesn't nag me about it).

c.) I had only one goal ... to tone up a bit after a huge amount of lost weight. I was mainly looking for a motivator and that is what i got. I am not an easy person to work with. So for the last point I would say...think about what you bring to the table too. I bring a snarky unwilling atitude. So my trainer doesn't measure up to the posts standards....but he can sure put a leashe on this bitch (excuse my french). :) In september it will be a full year since going to the gym. My goals were already reached and I'm thinking of setting new ones for the next year.

But yes...I would recomend a trainer to just anyone and sometimes its not all in the knowledge he has...but also has to be a bit of a psyhologist. Easpecially if you are a special snowflake like i am.

Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57