When Your Gym Day Goes Terribly Wrong

in #fitness7 years ago

I went grocery shopping this weekend. I forgot to wear the requisite support gear on my arm to protect my healing tendon. My five-year-old decided the middle of the first shopping stop was a great time to transform into a monkey and use my injured arm as a branch to swing from. I'm guessing you can imagine how that went over and how it pertains to the above title.

marion-michele-277282.jpg
I need to be comfortable with where I am.
Image Credit

I spent the rest of the weekend in pain (be we have food!). When she grabbed hold of my arm, she not only turned my wrist and elbow, she wrenched my shoulder. The result is a very angry rotator cuff that was almost back to normal.

Ugh.

Friends, I'm tired of waiting. Of working hard to not work hard. I want to be lifting things and doing pull-ups. I really, really wanted to be on the pull-up cage today at CrossFit. Instead, I was on my back on the floor improving my hollow holds while everyone else did skill on the cages. I even had to modify my modification because I am unable to raise my left arm above my head due to the compressed joint and internal swelling.

But I'm not all about bad news. These frustrations have a point. Even though my gym day didn't go as planned, I still showed up. Even though I couldn't do what the rest of the class was doing, I still worked. Even though I couldn't challenge myself as much as I wanted, I still got in a great core workout. Hollow holds are no joke. My abs are swole.

And my classmates were, as always, a loving family. They know how hard it is to not be able to work. I have been injured since October. I am over it. We all want to see this heal so I can get back to where I like to be.

It will happen. Patience is everything.

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

APP.png

Sort:  

Injuries sucks... :/ I love to play basketball, but I get a lot of ankle injuries when I'm playing. Though they do not last for as long as your injury... Mostly I can't play for a week or two, but that still sucks. I always want to play, sometimes I would even attempt playing while slightly injured, because I simply can't do nothing! Obviously, this way I'm risking to get a worse injury, but there's nothing I can do about it...

Yeeks... I know how that must feel. Years back we were doing some construction work and in the absence of men power I ended up on a shovel job. Now, everything was quite ok, for some time, then after a week or so I found out I 'wasted' my elbow. I need around 6 months to restore mobility. It was just as you said. Nobody can touch you, hold you, you can move it right or use an arm to lift things or work. I wish you speedy recovery ASAP.

You know you're a badass, right? If you don't - and I think you do - I am here to tell you that you are a badass.

Great post. For that, I have one quote about injuries in sports.
"Sports teach you how to be quick. Injuries teach you how to slow down."
Yao Ming
Take care, and I wish you a speedy recovery!

There is a proverb "Health is wealth" and health is the greatest gift that God give us. We realized the necessity of health when we become sick. God give us health without cost but we should take care of it seriously. Good wishes for you @shawnamawna. God bless you and your family. Your post was very helpful about health care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56776.60
ETH 2424.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37