Movement May Final Post

in #fitness6 years ago

And the month is over. I survived it, and even did way better than I anticipated.

Last time I was writing around two thirds of the way through the month and I was almost done with my 25 km target.

Well in the last 10 days, I had quite a bit of extra things I did, but after a couple of walks I thought, maybe I will actually make that 50 km target that I never thought was possible when I signed up to @aussieninja's challenge. Especially after missing the majority of the first week of the month!

So how did this last section of the month go? Very well. 7 walks in 9 days just as a starting point makes me happy, as that regular fitness thing was the part I was hoping to get out of this. I've also been happy with the improved distance of each of the walks, mostly thanks to the game (Our World) which I've been playing. There was also the target I set during (or after...) my last post of walking all the streets in my local blocks that I usually just walk around.

3 of the 7 walks were pure gaming wanders, which is where the local streets got covered mostly. These also turned out to be 3.6, 3.8 and 4.7 km. There was very little backtracking in them too, with only a couple of single block sections needing to be done to cover them all.

Walked Map B&W - Plus New Coloured Paths.png
Fancy cleaned up street coverage, but I updated it after the first wander that filled in all the little dead ends in the northern big block

The big green path around the south of the map is my shopping trip, where I decided to actually walk to the Rockdale Plaza and back. It's pretty much 1 km each way, but I turned that walk into 3.6 km by looping around the other way rather than just returning along the highway. The longer return trip was also carrying 2 bags of shopping, or about 10 kg of stuff. More than I intended to buy, but so many good mark down bargains in the meat fridges.

I also have kept walking to and from gaming, and with the monthly event as well as the normal one, they've accounted for another 3 walks. 3.9 km, 3.35 km, and 3.05 km for the varying days depending on where I was stopping for food on the way.

All those numbers sound pretty decent, and have meant I've gone from just short of 25 km to a final total of 50.15 km at the end of the month. It also means I walked 26 km in the last 9 days of the month, or more than I thought I'd walk in the entire month in just the last third of it!

Thanks to all those that supported my efforts, and especially @linnyplant for making people get involved and @aussieninja for starting it off for the #teamaustralia members. It's been fun and I hope to continue tracking my distance, as well as actually continuing walking over the next months.


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

You’re on fire, ratty!! Okay, just imagine this sound track and your May Moving walks. I’m impressed by your dedication and follow-through. A++ and a gold star effort!

I wasn’t so good. Work really took over. 😭

I’m glad you got it done! 🌈💚

Such an excellent track.

And when I commit to something, I follow through. Sometimes it takes me much longer that intended. Other times, I just go and do things super quickly and get them done

Got to keep moving. That is the key.:-)

It gets more difficult as it gets colder. The inclement weather outside and my pain from the the arthritis both like to keep me where it's warmer

Oh wow well done! And awesome that you ended up passing the original goal after all :D

goatsig

I was quite surprised when I noticed that it was going to add up to enough to pass it. I really didn't expect to, though I did expect to surpass 25 km if we had good weather and I maintained my health, I thought 50 was too much for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79