Aloha from Hawaii!

in #fitness7 years ago

Aloha Steemit Community!

So many apologizes I send for not being active on here for a whole month. What have I been doing? Well, I've been in a funk. You may be wondering what sort of funk I've been in. Like any other funk, I haven't been feeling myself. I've been feeling lost. I have so many things going on in my head; so many things that I want to do, but no initiation. Today I finally initiate! This post is keeping me accountable for my actions.

Today marks one week since I've started my new powerlifting training cycle. I squatted 225x5x5, benched 135x5x5, and I failed to deadlift because I didn't make time for it. I had a quitting mentality this past week, and I am disappointed in myself for it. However, tomorrow is the start of a NEW WEEK and I'm totally gonna crush.

On top of beginning my powerlifting training cycle, I sort of started counting my macronutrients. I've also had a quitting mentality towards that simply because I don't want to micromanage. I just want to make sure that I'm getting enough protein for muscle building and carbohydrates for muscle fatigue. Don't forget that I don't eat any meat, eggs, or dairy, so counting my grams of protein is a little more difficult and time-consuming than as if I were to eat meat, eggs, and dairy. It's causing me to look up new recipes and even create my own recipes.

Here's an update on my physique. I'm 5'10 weighing 203lbs. I plan on losing some fat while gaining lean muscle and getting stronger. I'll be sure to check back in next Sunday! (Christmas Eve)

rsz_1fullsizerender.jpgrsz_2fullsizerender.jpg

Aloha,

Quynne

Sort:  

You look like a strong woman... please don't judge yourself by quitting mentality, it is perfectly normal... after all, we are being bombarded daily by 1000 artifical factors and the fact that you achieved what you did, speaks for itself.
Its perfectly normal to feel sometimes how you did and don't look at it as something negative, rather change your perception and focus on something else at times like that - writing a nice blog for example 🙂
Peace be with you

I wish I could upvote this 10+ times. Thank you so much for your uplifting words! You definitely right. I need to harness that negative energy and channel it to a positive outcome.
I mentioned how I was only going to blog once a week for my training recap, but writing a nice blog in between would definitely soothe my soul 😌

<3

I also don't eat meat, eggs or dairy and have recently joined a women's only bootcamp class at the gym. I'm struggling with eating, but want to get back on the meal plans I found on plantbasedonabudget.com! I did it for a week and it helped me a lot. I have a couple of friends who are vegan bodybuilders, so I know it's possible to eat plant-based and still have a protein rich diet to support muscle growth :)

Also, I hope you are feeling better and getting out of your funk. Do you do Yoga or meditation?

Plantbasedonabudget has great meals! I follow them on Instagram. I’ve been vegan since last March. On of the best things I’ve ever done 🙂
And thank you for the well wishes. I’m slowly starting to get out of my funk. It’s just a matter of organizing and prioritizing for me. I used to do yoga and meditation on a somewhat regular basis but haven’t in awhile. I sadly don’t make time for it 😔 I’m gonna be adding it to my schedule though. Thank you for the reminder 😊

I'm reminding myself as well, actually! lol I had been doing yoga 5x a week, and haven't done any yoga in a month or longer. I'm going to start adding it in my schedule again this week! :)

So awesome! Lmk how it goes ☺️ Do you do your own yoga flows or follow an instructor online? I wish I could go by memory of flows but I’m not there yet

I wish I could as well! I'll work up to that point :) I follow Yoga With Adriene on YouTube. Every January she does a 30 day challenge (You can go back and do the ones from '15, '16 and '17, but my guess is a new one will start this January too :) ) Other than that, she has a "yoga for _____" for just about everything, and practices from 10 min to an hour. Plus she's quirky, so I really enjoy her videos :)

Thank you so much for the suggestion 😀 just wrote it down in my journal. So perfect since January is right around the corner

Hola from Zagreb :) I see you are new and wish you a warm welcome to the most positive community on the whole internet. Wish you have the best of times here, share your stories with us and make some nice profits while writing about things that you like.

Have a great day.
Cheers!

Thank you for your welcoming words all the way from Zagreb :) I had to look up where that was. It’s amazing knowing I get to connect with people from all over the world. Looking forward to futures posts!

Sorry it took me so long to reply. Notifications usually don't work for me and I seen your reply just now. Yes, thats what i like about steemit the most. Connecting and sharing with other people on a such a new level than you would on other mainstream social media websites.

No worries, I don't get notifications either. I also love how there's so much information to be learned on here as well.

Yep but sorting through all of it is frustrating and sometimes it's very hard to find what you are looking for. If you got any questions about the platform or anything else I may be able to help you out with, don't hesitate to ask :)

Thank you :) I'll definitely reach out to you if I have any questions on anything

Np, eather here or on discord/steemit chat, name is same as here and I'm all most always available.

Quick tip: Is aw that you don't center images, it's easy just

Have a great day dear :)

You’re awesome! Thanks :) I post from my phone sometimes so it already looks centered but I’ll be sure to post from my laptop next time to make sure everything is the way it should look

Congratulations @quynnetessential! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51