Bench day and protein coffee!

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Ah, chest day. My least favorite lol. Nah it's not bad, bench is just my weakest lift so it seems less fun doing it.

imagestill trying to do a lean bulk, currently 157.8

Today's warm up was so quick and easy there wasn't really any point timing it, in my opinion.

image

Working sets went fine, for the most part. I went a little wider on grip today just to test it. Probably not the best idea haha the top set was pretty grindy.

That last rep had me a little worried lol. But, I survived and that's all that matters.

image

Accessory work was just dumbbell incline press. I don't do incline nearly enough so I figured I'd do it today.

image

Ok now for conditioning...
I know what you're thinking.
"Myles, yesterday was deadlift day! What are you doing?!"
I do a lot of lighter deadlifts and squats throughout the week. 225 is light enough to do a workout like this but also heavy enough that it makes this workout difficult lol.
Basically I'm not digging into my CNS doing this, but it's not an easy metcon by any stretch of the imagination.

Ok that was the workout. But before I end this I gotta tell you guys, I decided to do something new today with my protein powder. I blended it into my pot of coffee and oh my LORT it is good.

image

It's just black coffee and protein, but it got that nice foamy top layer and it's sweet and caramel-y from the protein.
Protein is another one of those things I'll just try different brands, although I try to find ones with the fewest additives as possible, not because I'm particularly concerned about the contents, but because the more stuff that's in it the heavier it tends to make my stomach feel and I don't like that bloated sick feeling. This protein is tasty, mixes well, doesn't give me the upset tumtum, and it was fairly cheap on Amazon.

Ok everyone hope you have a great day!

Sort:  

Your torso tattoos remind me of Louie from Westside Barbell. I try to mix up my protein powder too. I buy different brands of both whey and vegan powder. I figure then that I’m getting a variety of aminos and I also like mixing it up in case any brand has impurities.

Whey protein inherently has all of the necessary amino acids. You shouldn't need to mix it up. As long as it isn't garbage from the start, and in most cases, even if it is, you should be golden.

Thanks for the tip. Yeah I’m probably wasting money with those vegan protein powders but at least I only buy them when they are on sale anyway. I could just buy the whey since it has all the necessary aminos, lots of BCAA’s, etc.

Man, you can get the expensive stuff, or the cheap stuff. The only difference is the filler stuff, and the flavor. You'll pay top dollar for the flavor, but at the end of the day, you'll just throw money out the window. It all does the same thing.

The funny thing about the torso tattoo up top is that it says "drinking of you" and I got it under the assumption I'd always be a heavy drinker. Luckily I realized my old beer gut wasn't cute. Maybe I'll get the beer steins on each side of the banner changed into shaker bottles 🤔
Not really, I still like the tattoo. It'll just serve as a reminder of my old partier days lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23