🤜 Are Pre-Workout's Worth it? 🤛

in #fitness6 years ago


Do you know what's in them? No? Then maybe take the time to learn about them.


Pre-workout supplements have become a big deal in recent years. They're everywhere in supplement stores and virtually anyone that lifts weights will say how amazing they are.

I was probably the only gym owner in existence who had never used a pre-workout until last week. But that's not the case any longer sadly.

Source

I had the chance to train after taking a pre-workout last week. The experience was insane. Shortly after taking the supplement:

  • My face started tingling
  • My heart rate went through the roof
  • My focus and clarity went through the roof
  • A sense of well being and excitement came over me
  • My skin became flushed
  • I started talking at an insane rate
  • I felt like I could lift any object in the gym that wasn't bolted to the floor

And my workout was amazing. I was doing another German Volume Training session and smashed the workout out the door. I performed at a level that I haven't performed at in a long time and it felt amazing.

And once I was done I was immediately thinking I've got to go and grab some of that pre-workout, that shit is insane.

Naturally, I've heard of the dangers of these supplements before. So before rushing off to my local supplements store I decided to read a little further into them to see if the dangers are really as bad as what I had heard.

And what I found out was enough to stop me going out and blowing $70 on a container of this gear.


Source

Pre-workout's often contain a substance that is frighteningly similar to amphetamines


This substance is DMAA and it is found in many pre-workouts. The main concern is how this substance can put you at risk of heart problems, partly because of the caffeine levels in these supplements along with this additional stimulant.

The other concern is that companies producing supplements are constantly on the look out for new substances that replicate that high energy rush after you take their product. They want people to really know that they've taken a pre-workout and more or less give them a high. So to do this, they're always pushing the boundaries in terms of what they add in to their supplements. And this puts your health at risk.

There's little need for testing these products to determine if they put your health at risk. They're just pumped out to consumers after being checked to see if they're operating within the boundaries stipulated by the FDA.


A supplement for every occasion


And, finally, I have one major concern with the supplement industry. They're creating supplements for every occasion. When I first started taking supplements many years ago, it was just protein, creatine and L-Glutamine. We didn't have this insane range of products available now.

It really worried me the other day when I was introduced to a supplement that was designed to push you into the REM sleep zone very quickly. It was being sold as allowing people to only sleep for 4 hours a night since it gives such a deep sleep, essentially condensing all the sleep you need into a short period.

Source

This product was banned recently. And the company has already released in an amended version. But what really scares me about this line of products is that we now have a range of supplements that encourage consumers to take supplements:

  • When they wake up (pre-workout)
  • During their workout (BCAAs, L-Glutamine and creatine)
  • After their workout (protien)
  • And before hitting the hay (sleep inducing substance that I refuse to name)

This sleep supplement was banned as there was potential for consumers to overdose on the substance. And this product was being sold over the counter to anyone and everyone without and interest in their health and well-being.

So not only are people being encouraged to become dependant on their supplements, and spend hundreds of dollars a month on these products, but no-one is really interested in the consumers health. The supplements industry just wants to pump these people full of crap so that they can get rich.


So what can you take to help your exercise?


While I'm very negative about the supplements industry, there has been some research that suggests creatine and whey protein supplements have some benefits.

Anything else is really just a gamble, but quite likely to be a waste of money and potentially damaging to your health.

And pre-workout's?

If you want to take a pre-workout, just have a black coffee. It's cheap, effective and not likely to cause you serious health concerns.

The next thing to do is to make sure that you're eating the best diet possible to support your training. A good diet really removes the need to use supplements given that supplements are really just that, they're meant to supplement any gaps in your diet.

If you're training at a particularly high level, then maybe you do need to use a whey protein and/ or creatine. But in my experience, it's a rare day when someone really needs these supplements.

Don't fall into the trap of making supplements a part of your daily life. It's quite possible you're doing more harm than good, and not just to your bank balance.



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I've heard good stuff about NO/Nitrous Oxide and the B vitamins. I would be scared if my heart rate shot up. I think Ephedra did that and killed people.
Bro science does say you do need a pre-workout especially if you are a professional but I would hopefully avoid doing top much caffeine or stimulants.
We can also do things like eat better foods to help with workouts.
Do you take any creatine?

Yeah you're right. Ephedra was one of the first substances to kill people in pre-workouts. There's been a couple of other deaths that I've heard of since then. I don't know anything about NO but the B group vitamins are a decent stimulant.

Bro science doesn't sound too reputable to be honest. Caffeine is all you really need.

I don't take creatine but there is some research out there that supports it's use. It's one supplement that I probably would use if I was getting pretty serious with my lifting.

Many believe all those supplements are just snake oil. Self proclaimed former GNC workers have said the same.

Some of these supplements help due to the fact your body might be missing out on some of the vitamins the supplement provides but if you are already eating healthy and your body isn't lacking in any minerals / nutrients then any over the counter supplement that isn't tainted likely isn't going to have much of an impact.

You're right, supplements can help if getting everything your body needs is difficult or impossible. But in most cases they just aren't needed.

And for pre-workouts, a good strong coffee is all that's needed. :)

This really helps!!

Ive been going to the gym for about a year now and I always thought about supplements to help, but there's so many I didn't know what to get so I never got around to it.

What made me put off them completely is one night before I started my overnight shift, my mate came to see me and shared some pre-workout he had, I just wanted to try it. He got me to have the rest and I was off tap all night, I was bouncing off the walls.

So yeah not for me ahhaha

I heard that Australia has or is thinking about banning DMAA?

Sounds like we had a similar experience. I've read about people taking before heading out partying. It basically behaves like a party drug.

I wouldn't be surprised to see it get banned in Aus very soon. It's scary shit.

I don't know, man, that sounds terrifying. Especially when you know it was a meth derivative of some kind. Holy cow. How does that stuff even get approved? I guess that shows that the FDA is either corrupt, a sham, or worthless when it comes to at least certain products and protecting the health of the individual.

Sounds like there's way too much of a risk of getting addicted, and then getting into all of those health risks you described. I hope you're okay. I know it was only once, but once is more than enough.

Yeah I'm fine. The temptation to use the gear again was pretty high though initially. After reading more into it all though it's just scary. Definitely steer clear from that stuff.

Wow - that’s hectic that they contain ingredients similar to amphetamines! I’ve only ever used whey protein - and even then I kinda feel like I’m cheating! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55