Jan 7 Training - Mixed Gymnastics skills & Turkish Get Up's

in #fitness7 years ago

This is my standard skills practice format that I do on days when I'm not doing any serious lifting. Sometimes I add or remove a few skills depending on how much time I have available.


Warmup

Kettlebell halos 16 kg , face the wall squats and butterfly hip flows.
Kettlebell goblet squats - 20 kg *8, 24 kg *6, 32 kg *5

Turkish get ups (TGU's), before I do each set (1 rep left & 1 rep right) I do pullovers, diagonal pullovers and floor presses, all done with Kettlebells while laying on my back.

20 kg TGU 1L+ 1R (plus 5 floor presses and pullovers on each side)
24 kg TGU 1L + 1R (plus 4 floor presses and pullovers on each side)
28 kg TGU 1L + 1R (plus 3 floor presses and pullovers on each side)

Parallettes

Planche leans - 3 * 8 second holds ( My goal is to do a full planche before I'm 50, so I have less than a year )
GMB fitness parallettes one - full flow, just once.

Gymnastic rings

Front lever - 3 static holds, 8 seconds, 6 seconds, 5 seconds
Back lever - 3 static holds, 8 seconds, 8 seconds, 6 seconds
L sit skin the cat * 10

One arm Ice cream makers

Towel assisted with the non working arm, gripped at the bottom of the towel
2 sets per arm 5 reps per set

15 fast explosive decline pushups on parallettes with elevated feet.


It hit 46 deg C here when I was doing all that, so it was tough but I still had a good training session.


Keep Steeming friends

Sort:  

Sound like a great workout, unfortunately I can't lift a 28kg kettlebell yet the best I can do atm is 16kg.

Thanks for your comment and up vote. @blackcaviar

16 kg sounds like a light weight but everyone has to start somewhere. I know some men who had to start with a 12 kg kettlebell to be able to get the most benefit from it.

I also know a 50 year old woman who does TGU's with a 32 kg kettlebell , which is something many men will never achieve.

Walk your own path and let the numbers rise of their own accord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51