Angel Oak Crossfit: My New Home

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

Over the last year I have fallen in love with Crossfit, and pretty much spend all my time outside of work, doing it. (Even with the dedication and time in the gym, I'm still a mediocre Crossfitter at best, but I'm proud of it #crossfitmediocre).

Anyways, I started my Crossfit journey a little over a year ago at a gym in a gym in West Ashley (Charleston, SC). I trained there pretty much every day. I really enjoyed the coaches and crew at the gym, so much so, that when the coaches (Megan Flora and James Engesser) announced they were starting their own gym, I jumped at the opportunity to switch gyms.

Although the new gym, Angel Oak Crossfit, is a little bit further away than the previous gym, it is worth the drive. I work from home all day, so it's not like I am commuting to work and then commuting to a gym. I actually enjoy the drive. It is very scenic and calming. Sometimes before or after intense WODs I want to have some alone time to think and decompress, and that drive allows me just that.

Angel Oak Crossfit is located on Maybank Hwy in Johns Island, SC (outside of Charleston, SC). It's an awesome space. One thing the old gym lacked was new equipment, and this space has just that. It's been exciting to watch Megan and James take an idea from scratch and get it off the ground. It was hard to envision a Crossfit gym in the space prior to it being built out. Now its hard to remember what the space looked like before. I saw first hand the sweat and effort it took to build this thing out. From putting up walls, to laying the flooring, to putting up the rig, building out a Crossfit gym isn't as easy as I would think.

It's exciting to see some of the old crew merge over to Johns Island, as well as, meeting a bunch of new people. I am so excited about this new box and new home. They call it "the House" for a reason and it sure feels like home.

Picture1.png

Sort:  

Love Crossfit workouts! The best part about these gyms is the community and people you meet. In a regular "cookie cutter" gym, it's rare you'd ever speak to anyone.

Do they have drop ins? I'd love to check it out next time I'm in the area!

Yes, come drop in anytime. If you're ever in the Charleston area it's worth the drive. It's located near the Angel Oak Tree (where it derives its name). It's a popular tourist stop. Lots of great restaurants and there's a cool brewery too on Johns Island.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4500 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-10-15 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Very good story of your new Box ... greetings from Venezuela from crossfither to crossfither ... dispulpa my bad English, I had to translate from the web hahaha! I invite you to Follow Me and Vote on my Blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50