Unnecessary gym eqipment taking up space

in #fitness5 years ago

I have only ever been in one gym that had really sound choices for what sort of equipment they have in their weight rooms, ever. The one I am a member of now is not that gym. It seems as though they just kind of bought whatever they could find for sale when they acquired a lot of their gear. For starters, half of the plates are in kilograms and half are labeled in lbs, which makes for a very confusing situation. However, today I want to focus on this damn near useless piece of equipment.

58574666_655518078228213_7288716207488761856_n.jpg

It is a beast and is quite possibly the largest piece of equipment in the entire weight room. The problem that I have with it is not that it doesn't have a purpose, it is that it is time-consuming to use an also redundant because there are already several other machines that achieve the same purpose.

It's primary function is for doing flys or butterflys, which is a chest exercise where you have your arms at the side and arc them to the center where your hands eventually meet. This machine does not have plates that you select with a pin but rather you have to use individual plates from the stock that are normally scattered all over the gym. This is dumb because they already have several fly machines that are compact and do the same job... like this one for example.

58614681_425402044683118_8432976111679307776_n.jpg

This pieces of equipment accomplishes the exact same thing but instead of needing to hunt all over the gym for a plate that is not being used it has all the weight that most normal humans would ever need to lift all contained in a rack - a rack that is already labeled in both lbs and kgs.

Another problem from our original machine is that for people like me that can do 80-100 kg sets, is that the weights must be placed on the machine very low to the ground that can only be accessed by putting yourself in an awkward position to access it.

58756901_802488796775254_966839314908446720_n.jpg

This introduces a wonderful opportunity to tweak and accidentally injure your lower back, which is always fun and these sorts of injuries are actually very common in the gym.

Virtually no one in the fitness center ever uses this machine and it takes up the amount of space that 2 or maybe even 3 other machines could be occupying. It really should be retired.

The only thing that I could even imagine someone would ever NEED this thing for would be if they were capable of doing fly-sets that were above the capacity of the compact rack machine, whose top end is something ludicrous like 200kg. However, the dumb red monster machine can only fit 4 plates on each side and our largest plates are 25kg.... so go ahead and so some math there real quick if you feel like it.

Mostly, I have been happy with CNX gym in Chiang Mai but this is not the only redundant or dumb machine that is in their stock. I think a little bit more attention to detail should be put in place.

I realize that this likely doesn't apply to many people and perhaps is not interesting, but tonight I was just staring at the machine and felt like letting it know how much I hate it and the fact that it takes up entirely too much space for what its intended purpose is. :P

If you have a gym story about something that was just dumb they had in there, i would be interested to hear it.

Sort:  

I suppose having a full gym looks better than having empty spaces. They don't care as when you join at first glance it looks full. Over time as more modern stuff appears hopefully it will be tossed.

yeah, I can relate to that. I am certain this equipment is extremely expensive and when your patrons only pay a maximum of $30 a month for membership, it is probably difficult to justify or even consider new purchases.

Yes, this machine is a waste of space. We have several stupid machines in our gym too. Hunting for plates haha. I takes minutes to find places, especially when there are many people. Also buggy cables and machines. Well, this gym is not far from my home, that's why. ;)

a lot of what I do is dictated by how many people happen to be in the gym when I go. There isn't a great deal of courtesy in this place so sets get hijacked by lookey-loos on a regular basis. I break up my days by body part and do a mix of machine / free weights. I know that isn't very specific :) Didn't know there was a bodybuilding blog here, I'm gonna check yours out :)

See you soon ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

ha ... ha ... ha ... you have to understand, friend ... you are in a country that is not modern yet. Maybe the machine used is already a bit outdated. Thailand is the same as my country Indonesia. Sports equipment is not modern like in America and Europe. So be patient, friend. enjoy your day. Continue to exercise for your fitness.

well the one gym i was referring to that was actually perfect was in the same country I am in now. However, it was owned by a bodybuilding son of an extremely wealthy Thai family. That place was perfect and I miss it. It was truly world-class.

Nop! Too busy to go to the gym for years now! I was clumsy, I kept bumping into these my machines which are useless to me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

A walk or cycling now and then and rhat can be very relaxing pluss you stay fit.

Posted using Partiko Android

This happens when people who have no clue are in charge of buying equipments. Unfortunately it's very common. They buy whatever they can get on sale to save money.
This tells a lot about the gym and it's not a good sign.

Only fitness equipment worth to own is your own body, an it's free!

Posted using Partiko Android

i suppose it depends on what your goals are. I know people who get / stay extremely fit with only calisthenics but for the most part beginners can't even do pushups / pullups and a gym would certainly help them. Plus an environment where everyone is exercising encourages others to do so as well. But I agree with you for the most part unless you are trying to cycle without a bike! :)

Well, my gymstory is that I still did not make it to the gym haha. But I am doing efforts to go for a walk regulary.

Posted using Partiko Android

that's fine dude! My parents never go to the gym but simply walk for around an hour a day and they are fit as can be. :)

I like your username. Any specific reason why you have chosen this?

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Maybe it was donated by someone and they feel that they need to keep it around out of respect or something like that. It seems like they could move it off to the side though so it isn't taking up as much room in the middle of the floor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59121.51
ETH 2993.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78