How to Track Alcohol into Your Daily IntakesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness7 years ago

IMG_2330.PNG
For those of you that strive to live a healthy, well-balanced lifestyle but also enjoy some drinks here and there - don't fret! You don't need to let alcohol get you off track from your fitness goals! I use myfitnesspal as my tracking app - check it out if you have never used it - it's AWESOME!

Here is how you can track alcohol:

Alcohol = 7 calories/gram

The easiest way to track calories from alcohol is to track it as a carbohydrate or fat.

A carbohydrate = 4 calories per gram
A fat = 9 calories per gram

For instance, A Michelob Ulta has 95 calories.

To track:
Carbohydrate: 95 ÷ 4 = 24 grams
Fat: 95 ÷ 9 = 11 grams

OR you can split it up: 95 ÷ 2 = 47.5 grams
47.5 ÷ 4 = 12 grams of carbohydrates
47.5 ÷ 9 = 5 grams of fat

Simply open up MyFitnessPal and search “fat” or “carb” and enter the allotted amount of grams. That’s it! Easy enough, right? Not quite.

Don’t forget to account for the other ingredients in your drink of choice. The drink you opt for may have additional calories to account for such as mixers. When ordering or making a drink, stick to options such as diet soda and 0 calories fizzy waters.

Fun Fact: Alcohol is a macronutrient. However, since it isn’t an essential macronutrient most tracking apps don’t include it.

Please note: the picture above of me with a massive drink does have ingredients that I didn't account for 🙊

Sort:  

That is too much work! I'll just drink the beer, and wish I hadn't tomorrow!

That's ok!! Balance & moderation 😊

Upvoted and followed. Unfortunately, I don't track my calories or beer intake except by the case, as my body was designed by GOD and the forefathers that founded this nation. They designed me, beer, and every other merican to have zero negative effects of homeostasis with alcohol consumption. Merica, Fuck ya.

HAHAHA love it!! Thank you for your comment 😊 You are blessed!!

I better cut back some of those drinks, I've been drinking tons of calories 😂

Balance, moderation 😊 Don't worry!

Or just ask for "skinny" everything like me. Haha. It's hard to find something that is enjoyable to drink, and less calorie dense than all the fun and tasty beverages. I'd hate to know how many calories are in my margarita. That would just kill my buzz. But if your persistence and dedicated like we are, I'm sure we'll find a way to fit it in to our diet. 🙃 awesome post.

Exactly! Sometimes just say screw it and don't worry about it because life!! Enjoy yourself. Othertimes though, tracking definitely comes in handy! My go to drink is tequila, lime & soda water! Sometimes a splash of cranberry.

That's right! If you can fit in some oreos for a cheat day, you can fit in some hard liquor or a fru-fru drink. Hahah 😄

Exactly!! You nailed it 😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13