This is what happens when you stretch everyday for 2 weeks

in #fitness6 years ago

iss3.png

GOOOOOD MORNING STEEMIANS!
vv1.gif

For the last 2 weeks I’ve been stretching every single day in order to improve my flexibility to be able to achieve one of the craziest feats of strength I have ever witnessed and that is the press handstand
tumblr_n6j61lfuMk1qdjo2ho1_250.gif

Besides the obvious requirement of being able to do a handstand (which I’m already working on with great success I must say) the press handstand also requires a lot of flexibility to be able to perform it effortlessly
winniePoohExercise.gif

But when I say that I need to improve my flexibility I don’t just mean general flexibility or working on my splits, this specific move requires me to be able to do the pancake
386580.jpg
Noup not this pancake
pancake-stretch-9.jpg
This pancake

The pancake stretch is a very good display of general flexibility since it not only requires you to have good hamstring flexibility but also stretches the low back and is great for opening up the hips for middle splits if that is one of your goals.

For all the reasons I just mentioned I decided to start working on this stretch until I get it and for anyone interested I will be sharing my progress until then including the things that worked for me as well as the things that didn’t (but keep in mind I’m no expert so if you have any experience with this please share it with me since all of your feedback is very welcome).

spancake.png
(For anyone wondering this is where I started, not bad for someone who stretched a little from time to time, but not even close to where I needed to be)
iss3.png
(And a few weeks later this is where I am now, in both pictures I am already warm and holding my end range of motion after my 20 to 30 minute stretching routine)

I will probably dedicate a separate post about the benefits of stretching and how you can go about it once I learn more and more, but so far as I’m still a beginner in my journey and all I can say is give it a try, start slow and only for a few minutes a day and come back later and thank me ;)

vv5.gif

Sort:  

these days I'm really lazy to do workout. but now I'm doing weight gain. this happens because I'm really tired of working in the office. I do not know what to motivate myself

If you can’t find a separate time to workout maybe you can split it into 5 minute intervals during the day, for example you could take a 5 minute break every 45 minutes and do some squats, burpees and/or do a few stretches. Or if you have a desk job you could replace your chair with a yoga ball ;)

Wow look at you go :) Great progress =). I love to stretch and will start doing yoga every morning starting from tomorrow :)

Thank you :) now that I’m feeling less stiff I’ve been interested in trying some yoga poses as well

You should :) It's such a great exercise =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50