Front Squats, Bench Press, Dead Lifts, Protein, Calories, Dips, Curls, Hump Day....Ahhh!!

in #fitness7 years ago

As a reminder, I plan to just do the front squat on the middle session of each week's workouts. That session was today. The other 2 sessions will include the back squat each time.

images.jpg

My previous normal routine of the front squat would be followed by the overhead press and then the weighted pull ups. Instead, I did the bench press and dead lift after the front squat.

Outside the gym, I am putting extra focus on my protein and calorie intake each day. My weight is about 172, so the rule of thumb is that I should aim to get 170 grams of protein per day. I'm fairly certain I have not been reaching that at all.

Now I'm writing my protein intake down each time I eat since I have good idea of the protein content of what I'm eating...for the most part. I must point out that I'm getting a good 120+ grams of protein from protein shakes, which really just consists of 2 scoops of powder, water, whole milk and couple of ice cubes.

Anyway, the numbers...

front squat - 10x25 6x45 5x95 3x115 2x135 5x150 5x155 5x160 4x140

Not a new mark, but the 3 heavy sets were each 5 lbs. more than the last session. Despite the discomfort from having a barbell jammed in the bottom of my throat, I am getting more "comfortable" with this movement.

bench press - 10x45 3x115 3x135 2x155 5x161.25 5x165 5x170 3x155

No new mark here, but I felt very solid with my form and the 170 IS the high mark for my bench. I just need to do that weight for 3x5 in order to match the previous high.

dead lift - 5x135 3x205 5x245 2x205

Now 245 is a high mark for me. But man oh man getting that first rep going from a dead stop is a bit shaky. I also adjust my grip for the heavy set where one hand is overhand and the other is underhand.

tricep dips - 3x5x53.12

This is also a new mark.

bicep dumbbell curls - 12x27.5 10x30 10x30

Overall a good workout with the numbers and form. It's been several weeks since I hit a new mark in every movement the same day. I'll keep pushing myself in the meantime.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Great work!! Gotta love the front squat "barbell jammed in the bottom of my throat" feeling, this made me laugh :) It does get comfortable I promise! Just practice as you probably know, let the bar roll back on your fingers and keep the elbows up.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.65 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52