Two day weekend (yes 2) means time to excercise!

in #fitness7 years ago

I went about 2 straight weeks without exercising with the exception of running a mile on my lunch break a couple of times last week. The week before I worked 6 days and my wife worked 7 so we had time to keep our heads above water and that's it.

Over the weekend I made time for exercise and it made my brain and body feel a lot better.

Here's a couple of pictures from my yoga practice showing balance poses. Yeah Balance.

balance1.JPG

This last frame in the sequence is a very hard balancing pose. My leg is crossed and my arm bound behind my back in lotus and I'm balancing on my toes and the ball of my foot. The first 2 pics show the entry. DON'T try this unless your knees have never had problems--I had a student injure here knee standing back up from the crouched position only using one leg.

The one below is a bit tricky in establishing center of balance and having the flexibility but I can still do it despite my slacking. Thankfully.

balance.JPG

That's what I need in life desperately is balance. Work is gonna slow down soon and I don't want to regress in my practice.

Speaking of slowing down

Here's the pitiful (compared to what I used to do) 2 and 3 mile runs I did Saturday and Sunday. Not much but it's been probably 2 months since I've done both yoga and run in the same day. Running makes my brain feel OK and without it I get depressed. When I run it gives me more energy and a more positive outlook and since I discovered it I have to do it to not get depressed.

run.JPG

I'm starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel on this huge design project I'm doing at work (11-12 hours days). and hopefully I can start running 3-6 miles 3-4 days per week again and pick back on my fitness posts and get back to posting every day.

I know I totally blew it on my race training but this isn't the first time my job has eaten all my free time and prevented me from achieving goals and accomplishing even the best laid plans.

However, the job pay very well and I get better benefits that most people in the U.S. for next to nothing so I guess I should be thankful for that.

I have another 2 day weekend coming up so hopefully I'll have some stuff to share after that!

Sort:  

Yoga seems to be the perfect exercise to complete running, you are an expert!!!

Yes the two are like yin and yang. they complement each other well. I got into yoga after I ran my first marathon 7.5 years ago and realized I needed to do something to help keep my muscles, body, joints, ligaments, etc in good shape. It's really helped prevent me from getting injured in my running.

Good advice re knees - I damaged a ligament which took ages to get better getting a little too zealous in my Ashtanga practice a few years ago.

(((((om))))) on!

Yes I don't do that pose in classes much any more (even though I'm not teaching) for fear someone will try and mimic the pose and get hurt. I use my hand on the floor to slightly assist the lift back up using only one leg because I don't want to injure a knee. If I did that means no running and no running means a sad @cryptokeepr.

I hear you. At 45 I can't, or shouldn't really be practicing Ashtanga or some of the more vigorous forms. Too much padmasana/half-bound padmasana, and with the quick transitions it's so easy to tweak something without realising it after the fact.

Great work man, good to see you are finding balance between those 12 hour days - crazy!

It's rough man but it felt good to do both (run / yoga) two days in a row. Hopefully this work madness comes to an end by the Thanksgiving holiday. I can do about 6 weeks / 50-60 hours a week but beyond that it really takes its toll on me.

It usually happens about 1-2 times a year and usually I handle it better but this instance has been particularly bad and mostly its due to other people's poor planning. That's the worst part about it is it could have been avoided (me having to work so much)

Sounds like you need a break very soon from work to avoid burnout and focus on yourself a bit more. Good luck to that happening soon!

Thankfully I have four days off for thanksgiving holiday and with all the extra pto I’ve accrued I’m gonna be off work December 16 thru January 2. 17 days!!!! Gonna be epic. I haven’t had that many days off in a row since I was a teenager. That’s half a lifetime ago....

Well deserved too I think! Enjoy that!

oh man you are working real hard. good job

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 47.0% @cryptomancer upgoat, thanks to @cryptokeepr
It consists of $1.63 vote and $0.54 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cryptokeepr to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80