A Low-Carb High Protein meal I used to Have

in #fitness7 years ago

Before getting into strict ketosis, I was consuming between 100 to 200 grams of carbs per day. I was experimenting with higher carbohydrate intake.

Then, I gradually reduce the carbohydrate intake over the course of 1-2 months. So, I stayed below 70-80 grams per day. The next step in reducing carbohydrate intake was to be in the range of 50-60 grams of total carbs per day.

And it's been more than a month now since I kept my carbs in the range of 25 to 35 grams per day. Blood ketones (beta-hydroxybutyrate) were present when I was in the 50-60 grams range. They were lower in the morning (>0.5 mmol/L) and higher in the afternoon.

Blood ketones got really high and stayed there (>1.5 mmol/L) as I restricted carbohydrates even more. And I have to be honest, this is really difficult for most people to achieve, which is why very few venture into prolonged nutritional ketosis. And a very important aspect of it is not to become nutrient deficient as the diet is restrictive. But, more about this in another post.

For now, here's one meal that I used to have while I was limiting my carbs to 50-60g per day. This meal is relatively low in fat and higher in protein and dietary fiber and micronutrients. It was a meal I used to have after my lifting session.

On the plate you see: mixed vegetables with beef burgers and a salad on the side. I'd say this is a good post-workout meal when wanting to lose bodyweight (on a cut) as it is not packed with too many calories...


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Hey @cristi actually quite an interesting post for me right now as I literally yesterday started weight training and i have heard about a diet that involves eating meat cutting out things like potatoes etc so is this the one and how long should a diet like this be kept up for?

I dont know. Depends on how much you want to. Whatever you do, make sure you get as many vitamins, minerals and micronutrients with your diet as possible

Out of curiousity, do you include spices (i.e. chili sauce) in your food?

I rarely do. I keep it simple with salt, pepper and sometimes oregano :)

Have you tried intermittent fasting yet? It allows you to eat whatever you like, but restrict eating to a time window, like perhaps 10 hours a day. So for the other 12 hours, you would be fasting, permitted only to drink water or black coffee. The easiest way to accomplish this is by skipping breakfast, delaying lunch as long as you can, and resist any snacking after a certain time in the early evening. It takes about 3 days to get used to skipping breakfast.

I was just curious to see if you tried it yet, because it seems to be gaining popularity in the fitness community. I tried the keto diet years ago, and did not enjoy it. I definitely could not stick with it long term.

Yes, I wrote 2 books on IF.

Hope it can be okay yes my friend ... So get well soon ..

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

And you also Very Good have helped me ... I have too upvote you although small😂😂😂

Do you think you'll establish ketosis faster if you get kicked out of it because of eating more protein versus carbohydrates? Or is it binary

I dont know, but I'd suspect you'd reenter faster into ketosis because of eating more protein.

Really good..your dieting plan is really good..i will consider your advice...
Thanks for the tips.

Nice post upvoted!!

importantl information and recipe.
I need diet and I need to eat healthy
thanks...

great post dear keep sharing stuff like this be happy .every one has weight problem indeed nice post <3

It looks delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50