The Adventures of Barefoot Running

in #fitness7 years ago (edited)

20170629_182814.jpg

Hello my fellow steemians! Today I am gonna tell you about my barefoot running adventure. (Also please excuse the pale tummy lol). So , today I went to work with the plan of running after work and before an appointment I had at 7pm.

When I got off work, I come to the quick realization that oh, I forgot my running shoes! I was a bit annoyed because I had planned this to fit exactly between the time frame between work and the appointment and had no time to go get my running shoes.

To get to the point here, I simply realized there was a grassy park (soccer fields, baseball fields, etc) right on the way to the appointment. I have ran on grass before (short distances) and liked it. So, I decided to simply stay on the grass and run barefoot. It was fun! This park has a designated dog walking area so I didn't have to worry about that and as you will see the grounds are fairly well maintained.

The pic above is me stopping halfway. If you look behind me there's some thistle flowers that are kinda cool.

20170629_183008-1-1.jpg

At that point, I also noticed these interesting looking berries. Decided against trying them. ;)

20170629_182903.jpg

This was halfway through my run which, due to the barefoot situation decided to run only 2.1 miles. Here's my feet at the turn around point. Not looking too worse for the wear.

20170629_182836.jpg

And my view at this point wasn't too bad...

20170629_182850.jpg

As I ran back, I captured some more views of the terrain/path.

20170629_183529.jpg

20170629_183618.jpg

20170629_183727.jpg

20170629_183937.jpg

Here's one brief section I had to cover that wasn't grassy but it was short.

20170629_183710.jpg

Upon arrival back to my car my feet felt fine! Maybe not looking fine but to be expected. :)

20170629_184328.jpg

Don't get too grossed out, it's only dirt and grass...

20170629_184339.jpg

Here's the Google view of my run

2017-06-29 18.44.53.png

As I said, I've run barefoot on grass before. It's rather primal, does slow you down a bit, but it is a nice change of pace (even if unplanned). I've run barefoot on pavement before; I do not recommend that ! The grass is a little tough on your ankle muscles even if relatively flat. Especially if you have high arches like I do, your feet kinda have to dig in more for traction purposes.

arches.jpg

There are some individuals out there promoting barefoot running. With a high arch you have no cushion for the arch pronating inward. Regardless of whether you have flat, normal , or high arches, the physical therapist in me doesn't advocate for barefoot running at all for beginners and proceed with caution if you're seasoned. It can be fun if you are careful. :)

all photos are mine
Image source of arch pic:
https://www.footscientific.com/fm-arches/

Thanks for reading. Have a great day and, as always, full STEEM ahead!

@trevor.george thought you may find interest in this post :)

Sort:  

I enjoy a job where i can work barefoot. I also have ran barefoot for a while or in xeroshoes. Great story!

I agree with you it should not be the norm every day run, with that said once in a blue moon would be cool. I myself, can't remember ever running without shoes. If I find a grassy area like you maybe i'll give it a try. I will let you know! Thanks for the post, look forward to your next one!

Thanks for reading. Give it a go! Take it slow :)
I bet you'll enjoy it

A lovely post! A german friend of mine a while back never used to wear shoes. and I mean never. The soles of his feet were black, but he could walk on any surface and was fine. I feel there is too much dependency on Trainers (sneakers if you are from across the pond), personally I like to have thinly soled shoes if I am doing sports, there is better contact with the ground. Have fun running. =]

In a way I agree. I don't like overly built up shoes myself

I like to walk around barefoot too, I spent like 30 minutes in the rain earlier, should have taken the shoes off.

That would've felt nice especially over grass :)

Congratulations @chelsea88! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sound like a lot of fun to run barefoot. But you never know what's in the grass, so i'll keep my shoes on. Nice pictures!

That's true. It is a calculated risk

My daughter thinks you need some polish on those toenails. ;)

Lol. Probably :)

I've thought about barefoot running before, did it a little bit in my teens. But I see now there are minimalist running shoes. Like toe socks, only shoes, with independent bits for the toes to slot into lol. Think I'll give them a go first before going naked on the soles :)

@geordieprepper good thought. Due to there are inherit dangers of stepping on glass or something. The barefoot run really challenged my ankle and calf muscles. Much like how running in the sand would be. My Calves were sore a couple days

True there is a lot of stuff lying around on the ground these days that you could step on and get an injury from. Barefoot running is the most natural running to do. This ridiculous trend of wrapping our feet up is relatively new and is not very good for us.

That grassy part looked so beautiful. The most fun run I ever did was on grass and barefoot. I really think it helped me run better (and I really really suck at running). Keep up the great work!

@thinknzombie
Oh thank you! It is fun and a good workout for calf and ankle muscle strengthening

Being barefoot is great for the heart and soul, I commend you!

@abh12345
Thanks! It it primal and wonderful. I recommend soccer fields. Especially with dewdrops on the grass. Mmmm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54