Saturday Long Run

in #fitness6 years ago

I rose at 5 am, drank two glasses of water, and ventured out into the summer morning for a 10 km run. It was still and fresh, the sky a pale blue, crows flocking blackly overhead. But the run was difficult. My limbs felt heavy and slow and I sort of shuffled along, my arms like lead weights. By kilometer 5 I wanted to give up; I wanted to give up for much of the distance. If it's so difficult, maybe I should go home and rest and try another long run next week, I thought.

But I kept going, slowly slowly, walking up hills. I remembered that this is exactly what I wanted to be doing. I was doing the thing I promised myself I would. That's huge! I remembered that I chose to do this because I want to love myself and moving my body is one of the most powerful ways to do that.

This is me loving myself, I repeated over and over as I slogged along. This is me doing exactly what I want to be doing. I finished the run with that mantra in my head.

Screenshot from 2018-07-29 06-11-41.png

I was discouraged by my 8:26/km pace until I remembered that I can only do what I can do (run) and to stop worrying about the rest (pace). I have nothing to be ashamed of and everything to celebrate. I ran 10 km!

I felt fantastic for the rest of the day. @jkms and I picked up morels and heirloom tomatoes and greens at the farmer's market and today I'll make them into a grilled pizza for dinner. We prepped tons of beans and rice for the upcoming week, @jkms made black bean burgers, and we picnicked in the front yard with our neighbours. What could be better?

Sort:  

10km! Atta girl! Keep working like this for the next 10~11 weeks and you'll be so ready for race day!

Side note: I'm gonna have to try out some of these burgers you speak of.

Congratulations @beccs! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You may not have broken any speed records, but you're still kicking my butt. I'm at zero runs!

I need to catch up to you!

Sorry I'm just seeing this post now!! Keep going, Beccs!!! I'm so glad that you pushed through it! Also, that pizza sounds amazing!!

Congratulations @beccs! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @beccs! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @beccs! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66844.99
ETH 3499.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69