Sparkling Water - Let's Bust Some MYTHS!

in #fitness6 years ago

Sparkling water is my FAVORITE. I know I have a lot of "favorite" things, but this one is way up there!

If I could only drink sparking water and never any flat water, I probably would :) it's just plain old water that's been pumped up with a little carbon dioxide... No sweeteners, no flavors (well, sometimes there are - I'm looking at you, LaCroix, in all your glory), no calories - pretty much the perfect beverage, in my opinion!


Source

So it perplexes me that there are so many negative rumors that sully the reputation of my favorite beverage... As a soda lover (I know, I know... I don't drink it that often but thurthfully I do love it) sparkling water has become the perfect substitute, helping me to cut lots of sugar, chemicals, and harmful substances out of my diet by eliminating soda in favor of this less processed yet deliciously bubbly beverage.

It's great for anyone trying to change their body composition as well, because it promotes the sensation of fullness more than flat water and, especially when replacing regular soda and other sugary drinks, can save hundreds of calories per day with a simple swap.

Here are a couple of things I regularly hear about sparkling water that just aren't true:

  • "CARBONATED BEVERAGES" will leach calcium from your bones, destroy the enamel on your teeth, give you cancer, etc..." Guys. "Carbonated beverages" as a category includes lots of different drinks, one of the main villains being our old pal soda pop, but the distinction is rarely noted - it seems like since carbonated (sparkling) water is, in fact, carbonated, that it should be included in this category. Makes sense. HOWEVER, the negative effects that soda is often linked to, from tooth decay to weight gain to cancer, isn't due to the fact that it's carbonated - rather, it's because of all the other garbage it's loaded up with. Sugar, chemicals, caffeine, acids... All things plain old carbonated water is completely void of.

  • Sparkling water dehydrates you. Ummm... What? Let's think that through for a second. Water, plus a few gas bubbles, is still just water. No other additives. MAYBE the tiniest amount of sodium bicarbonate (baking soda) to control acidity levels - not a big deal. The only reason I can think of that this could possibly be correct is if it fills you up (again, the bubbles) to the point where you can't drink as much as you need to stay hydrated each day... Still, I think it's a stretch - unlikely, and rather silly!


Source

I'm sure there are more negative whispers out there about sparkling water, but these are the ones that fire me up the most!

For all you fitness lovers out there and those looking to improve your health, or anyone who loves a bubbly and refreshing beverage, get your hands on some sparkling water ASAP - it's way more fun than flat water, helps manage your appetite, and makes hitting your H2O quota for the day a lot easier :)

Do you like sparkling water as much as I do?

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you'd like!
My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

It's the caffeine that depletes your bones of calcium. Anything that makes you pee right after drinking that's not straight up water (or carbonated water). The kidneys go nuts and try to flush themselves and in the process leech calcium from your system. Basically you're peeing out your bones. Carbonated water will affect your enamel though. Drinking through a straw can help with that... just don't use a plastic one.

I have never considered drinking sparkling water as a substitute for sodas! The things that you expose here make sense, water with a little bubbles cannot be considered equal to drinks with chemical additives, colorants, sugars and other ultra-processed compounds.

By the way, do you know something about structured water?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83