HELP... I have never caught a fish! :(

in #fishing8 years ago (edited)

S.O.S to all steemit fishermen

I have noticed there are quite a few fishermen on steemit. I love the concept of catching your own dinner and the fun of siting around with a friend or alone and relaxing while fishing. I have been fishing maybe 5 or 6 times but never cought anything so I gave up. If I could get some input on the following queston and maybe a story about the first fish you cought that would be cool. Thanks! ( I live in California if that helps)

  • What is a good first pole?

  • What kind of fish is "easy" to catch?

  • How long should i wait in one spot before I move?

  • Live bait or "fake" bait?


Source https://github.com/Ranks/emojione

Sort:  

Use a hot dog, or a worm, and go to any local pond and put a bobber on the line... cast just a couple feet from shore...

Bluegill are everywhere and easy to catch. Just make sure you use a small hook as they are not very big.

Any pole will do!

Ok well first off your in cali and you guys have tons of fish there.

If I were you I would go freshwater fishing 1st because its the easiest. You guys have trout, largemoth bass, bluegills and I think smallmouth bass as well. Rumor has it that Cali has the world record for largemouth bass.

As far as bait you should go live bait because it increases your chances of catching a fish due the how real the presentation is. Using artificial takes and little bit more skill and time. For a pole you should able to visit your local walmart and buy and normal Freshwater pole which probaly already has good fishing line on it. Around 10 pound testis good for what you need. THe amount of time you spend at a spot does matter. You may even have to visit the smae spot more thatn once to learn the pattern needed to catch them. Bluegills in my opinion is the easiet fish to catch. You could use bread or buy some live crickets and they love them. I hop this information helps. Heres a video I made with some blue tips.

I gave you an up vote and thanks for the help.

Some good questions here
Maybe google it?

I dont get paid to google and I like talking to real people but yes google would work.

Congratulations @joelinux! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76