How Steemit Re-ignited My Passion for Fishing

in #fishing8 years ago (edited)

When I first started on a Steemit the idea of a fishing blog seemed absurd. Everyday I would check the tag #fishing to see if there was something new. After a few days I slowly realized that there is some passionate people here who also fish! As my fishing blog continued to grow I noticed a small following that upvotes nearly every fishing related post I create. Normally the only people who see the fish I caught would be a few friends that fish, my dad & my girlfriend. Now it's nice to see a small group of people who regularly check out my fishing reports!

Fishing comes in extreme highs and lows. Sometimes you go out and have some amazing trips were you hook up on tons of fish, other times you get nothing! Fishing can go from being an awesome experience to a drag that you feel like your just throwing money away. One of the ways I stay excited with every fishing trip is by teaching somebody new how to fish. There is no better feeling to me than watching someone land a monster fish. Somebody new to the sport will always have a priceless reaction when catching a big fish. It's been nice for me these past few years because I have been fishing with my girlfriend. Every time we go out I can introduce her to a new style of fishing. Unfortunately that newbie experience has completely faded. She has become quite the successful fisher-woman, she doesn't need much help from me anymore (Just to back the boat in!).

Before steemit, what really was starting to catch up with me is the price. Don't get me wrong I love fishing, always have & always will. Going out in the boat can be extremely pricey, let me break it down:

- Gas money for the truck & the boat: $25.00

- Tackle can really start to add up, I normally buy new tackle every other trip: $20.00

- Food for the trip, it's cheaper to pack our own lunch so I normally do that: $20.00

- Beer...duh: $10.00

- Boat repairs, they're hard to pin point what they cost but I'm about $3,500 invested into my boat

This is where steemit really comes into play for igniting my passion for fishing. Let's say that the average trip out fishing generally cost me about fifty bucks! For the most part, my fishing posts have been pretty popular. Making me on average about twenty five bucks per post. That covers about half of my expenses for the entire day. If you told every fisherman that half of his trip could be paid for you would watch his eyes light up with excitement! I feel elated to be apart of this community, to allow a non professional fisherman to make a few bucks!

Thanks steemit!

Check the latest fishing report here!

Meet my boat here! I was still a newbie blogger back then!

See my first fishing report here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63