Exploring what Steemit has to offer

in #firsttime6 years ago (edited)


Using Steemit feels like the good old days using the internet for the first time, everything feels so new, exciting and unknown. Blockchain is just like a new version of the internet, everyone is exploring the possibilities and looking for new ways to implement it.

The internet is a great place to earn money, have some passive income and be inspired by all the content that's out there, Writing stories and articles has always been one of my interests but I never really spend much time on it, I hope Steemit will motivate me enough to keep writing. And the most important that people enjoy reading my posts.

This post probably is not that interesting but I want to test the platform to fully understand how it works for my first "real" post. While exploring Steemit I found out I can edit posts. Steemit really feels like a blog because that's what they intended it to be, good job! Why just 5 tags though?

This post is a great place to introduce myself so you will know what kind of posts you can expect. I'm a Software Engineer with my own company, I develop webplatforms and mobile applications and have a huge interest in the ever changing world of technology. Traveling and exploring is my biggest interest and I love to share the world through my lens and stories on my Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/qkninjah/) and soon right here on Steemit! During my trips I have seen most of Europe, the North East cost of America and many places in China, which is my favorite country at the moment. China is an interesting country and soon will be posting stories here!

--

Curious to see how much I will earn with this post, can't wait to wake up tomorrow and see the progress!

Please don't be annoyed by this post, I know it's probably a boring read but reflect back to your first days on the internet trying out all the new features. My future posts will be of higher quality and as with everything the quality will improve as time passes. Thanks for reading and be sure to check back for stories about China, tech and more!

Sort:  

Hello qkninjah! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steemit

Welcome @qkninjah. I look forward to your post

Thanks @johnwalker1, glad to see my first comment already. You seem like you are having luck with your content already. How exactly do posts generate money? Is it based on votes? I plan to release my first "real" post somewhere next week about my stories in China. Thanks for checking my post out!

Cool, even comments can be edited and can generate $$.

Hey @qkninjah! Welcome to Steemit community!!!


Welcome to Steem @qkninjah.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48