Jobless Blog: From Rags to Rags

in #firstblog7 years ago (edited)

This is a little blog away from friends of mine, which i will be regularly updating with my thoughts. A bit of background I have just submitted my thesis for my PhD in psychology (awaiting my viva) got offered a job in the National Crime Agency in the UK (yes the British version of the FBI ;) ). After an interview which i thought i pretty much tanked, I got offered a role as a Senior Software developer (I do have a Masters in Computing so yes i do like programming), I was quite excited to start a job (Black James Bond na give it to Idris Elba).

It took three months to do a background check before i could start, (yes i had to piss in a cup) and then the fateful day when i got the letter of resumption. I was thinking it's about time for me to make my mark and take ISIS down with my coding skills. I had moved to London the previous week to make sure I was fit and ready for the working day and I had eagerly mapped out the route to work. Then, the Friday afternoon before resumption i made the fateful call, "When do I get my visa updated" was the question i asked over the phone to the HR advisor who had recruited me. What visa ?? he replied... I explained but i could feel him panicking over the other end of the phone. Turns out the job was only for people who had a valid work visa members of the Common Wealth already or were British (pity they neglected to put that on the job ad). I replied to him and asked 'what was the point of the background check (3 months of .....)'.

So it turns out being born in Britain and staying in the country for more than 20 years(not all in one stretch) doesn't amount to much oh well. The job offer got rescinded two hours later and i went back to being a full-time bum. Oh well this was 3 months ago...

Anyway let's end it here for now hopefully i get someone who reads this :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80