Fire walking- I've done it!! and the science behind it.

in #fire8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever seen fire walking and wondered how its done?

I must say, I have done it as a group team building exercise and it ends up being a really unique experience.

First up... generally you have a facilitator for team building.

They prepare a fire...

You sit around the fire and they talk you though all the motivational stuff to eventually get everyone to the point where they are prepared to walk over the coals that have been recently racked and leveled right in front of you.

Some even get the group chanting to help distract the next victim that is about to do something every cell in their body is screaming they shouldn't....

Actually its a lot about peer pressure at this stage.... will I look bad in front of others type stuff... of course the brain-dead dare devils jump up first to do it and then all the pressure is on everybody else after that...

If they could do it, why cant I... etc.

...and then eventually you pluck up the courage and take that first step and before you know it its all over
miraculously you and the soles of your feet survive...

...and now you have an awesome story to tell

and actually your self esteem takes a huge boost like it does whenever you face your fears, look death in the face and laugh.

As a team building exercise its no bad either... there is a sense of unity that comes from helping each other to accomplish this seemingly insurmountable task...the rooting for each other and the knowledge that if you as a team could overcome this...what could be worse.

Compared to walking through fire every thing else seems like a cake walk (pun intended)

You could always do it this way, but that would defeat the purpose.

The science behind it is simple....

If you have the right wood, only a thin outer layer is burning and giving off the red glow.

you don't want to use a hard-coal wood or charcoal that burns much deeper, or wood that has fat on it from a barbecue.

The sole of the foot placed firmly on the hot coals extinguishes this thin outer burning layer rapidly by depriving it of oxygen.

Water is able to absorb vast amounts of heat and because your cells have a very high percentage of water the heat is quickly absorbed and dissipated to the other surrounding cells.

It is a neat trick that looks really impressive but in the end it's just a trick.

The key to not being burned is to have enough confidence to step firmly onto the coals.

If you hesitate, step too lightly or have high arches the chances are that you will burn blisters.

I have high arches, the soles of my feet were fine but I did get a blister or two between my toes and under my arches.

Sort:  

Ah haaaaa; always wondered that, seemed to fly in the face of science, especially the no burning bit; nice :-D

Cg

how does Clarke's third law go: Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

The magic disappears once you understand the physics... but that still doesn't make it easy the first time.

Listen, even after reading this, I would still be nervous trying it for the first time :-)

Cg

Awesome!
I too have fire walked and LOVED it!
A very powerful experience. Though I actually walked not ran or walked fast and the fire instructer was impressed by how slow I went and at the end of the night asked to see the bottoms of my feet assuming they would be burned and I was just roughing it out. However they were not burned!
I have been considering leading fire walks as I do life coaching and is Kirstin speaking anyways and would be a great extra experience to share with people.
Thanks for the article. I am following you mostly because you are such a generous being with all the sponsoring of writers and such. Though this is a cool article and glad to see it.
Best regards~*~

Yip, you have to experience it, to know what its truly all about...

And I thought all along it was the deep burning coals and these fire-walkers were gods! Thanks for busting the myth!

Sorry for the spoiler...

Very cool post ! Thanks for clearing that up, I always heard it was a MoM deal ..(Mind over matter) ...

It may not be MOM but it definitely is mind-over-fear

Okay, this is seriously awesome. I can't imagine being able to tell people that you've walked through fire unscathed. That's definitely something for the bucket list!

It's interesting to note that in some cultures, like for the Indians, they do this as part of a ritual thing. Thimithi is their fire-walking festival. I'm sure there's a huge tourist attraction in India where it's practiced.

Similarly, in my home country Singapore, we have a yearly procession for the Indians who celebrate Thaipusam and it's normally a real photo opportunity for people who come to our sunny island.

I'm actually pretty sure that the majority of the ritual involves preparation - meditation and fasting - to show a devotee's willingness to suffer for their beliefs.

It's interesting to see just how far someone would go for their religion, and some of these "costumes" are really quite the epitome of dedication...

thaipusam
thaipusam

I never knew the physics about fire walking, but still won't try it.

My wife should however be excellent with this..... she always put her foot down firmly!!

Hi Gavvet I always wonder about this coal walking I thought you had to do it fast and was surprised to see now that it is done slowly to keep you from getting blisters I would also have tip toed but you said we have to put our foot down flat. Still I don't know if I would be able to do it even if someone paid me money perhaps if my life depended on it.

Yea it takes a group a couple of hours for everybody to work up enough courage to try... and its really important to have the confidence to step firmly.... otherwise blisters.

Hi Gavvet. Great article. Always wanted to try it and has always been a bit of a woosh😀 Interesting to read about the science behind it. Always thought that it cannot just be you and a few mates, after a few cold ones spreading some red hot coals on the back lawn

a couple of cold ones is what leads to using the wrong types of wood or coals that have fats and oils on them... it often ends badly

As shown by the gentleman in the post from sompitonov😀

Wow! I don't know if I could bring myself to do that!

It takes some mind bending preparation to work up the courage to do what your brain is screaming you shouldn't

Wise words!!!!😄

Thank you :)

Wow that sucks

that would hurt... when doing a pile you need to run to prevent the burning of the sides of the feet and legs... so with a pile of coals its all about speed..

all about speed...

With the main focus on staying on your feet...

i think the guy with white shirt didnt understand the direction. its walking in Fire not diving in fire. lol hehehe nice pic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39