Finland turning 100 years old tomorrow!

in #finland7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

Today has been a really good day. The morning started off great and I was happily surprised by the price charts of STEEM! Another cool thing was that the place where I am an intern at for the next three months had planned an independence day lunch for all the workers. We got to eat great food and relax and afterwards we got to leave work early.


Image Source

For those of you that didn't know Finland is celebrating their independence day tomorrow and it's a special one because it's the 100th anniversary. 🎈🎈

It will be a big celebration here in Finland but I've also heard that a lot of other countries will celebrate with us too!

The list is actually still growing with participants and most of them are going to "illuminate" an object in Finlands colors which of course are blue and white.

Here is a list I found of the countries that are going to participate and it also lists the object which will be used.

s100.JPG
Image Source

I think it would be really cool to see for example Niagara Falls glowing blue and white but I guess I will see pictures tomorrow so that will have to do!


I myself will celebrate by eating and drinking Finnish things all day and just feeling proud! I will also watch a Finnish movie called "Tuntematon Sotilas"(transl. The Unknown Soldier) which is a movie about the Continuation War between Finland and the Soviet Union from the viewpoint of Finnish soldiers.

A remake of this movie was made this year but I haven't seen it yet. I usually don't like remakes but from what I've heard this is a good one. The novel that the movies are based on has been translated into 20 different languages and if you ever come across a copy then I definitely think you should check it out!


Thank you for reading everyone and I hope you've had a good Monday too! Keep Steemin 😄

And of course, Happy Birthday Finland!

Peace out, Strawhat

SteemitStrawhat.jpg
Image Source

Sort:  

My good friend is in Finland right now celebrating the festivities, congrats to all the fins out there. Partake in some Finish past times like relaxing in a sauna, or killing some soviets!

They are too busy trying to throw Nato out of the country so there's no time to mess with soviets.

Thanks :D I definitely will be relaxing in the sauna this evening! I hope your friend enjoys his stay :)

Hey fellow Finn @strawhat. Happy independence day for us! Btw I have a really cool contest going on which purpose is to do a original work; photography, stories, poetry, art, everything goes as long as it's connected with the theme of Finland! And I will give all SBD's generated by the post to resteemers to share the love!

https://steemit.com/finland/@celestal/finland-100th-anniversary-the-whole-world-is-celebrating-with-us-resteem-for-free-sbd-extra-photo-contest-in-the-post

Hey :) nice to see some Finns on Steemit :)

Sounds like a great idea! I will check it out and try to participate aswell

It's good time now for us Finns to unite!

I will check it out and try to participate aswell

Great! Ok, I edited it on the comment but I'm going as broad as possible; any original work with a theme of Finland is now eligible!

very intersting to know about Finland :)

I have a friend who is happily married with a Finnish guy, sadly I forgot his name. She tells me great stories about Finland, but what I liked the most is when she told me her first time skiing, it was hilarious! HAHA!

I've never been to any foreign country. As a matter of fact, I rarely leave my city. I only do when its for a business trip. I'd love to travel when I found the time (and funds), and Finland would be on my list.

Thanks for sharing! :)

Haha, I can imagine as my first time skiing was a real disaster as well! :D

Yeah you should definitely visit Finland at some point if you can :) it really is a beautiful country both in the winter and summer. :)

Thanks for reading!

Dude, that's awesome! I hope you have a great independence day tomorrow :)

Oh, and I'm just curious, how was that movie? I'm always looking for foreign films to check out, and I do like war movies quite a bit :D

Thanks man! :) I'm sure it will be a good day.

The movie is actually pretty cool. If you don't mind older, low-budgeted movies then I would recommend the original. But I'm not sure how well the movie has been translated. I would think that there are at least English subtitles around the internet.

Yeah, chances are I can find a good copy with subs somewhere online to download. I'm putting it on my list of films to check out :D

Hyvää Itsenäisyyspäivää!
Katsoitko Linnanjuhlista myös?

Kiitos! En tiedä, voi olla, että katson :D

I don't know much about the celebration but would be great if you could share pictures for us here as well just like you are anticipating to see others

I will see pictures tomorrow so that will have to do!

so also others are waiting for yours lol. Also do well to extend some of the food to us here as well lol Happy Anniversary, Happy Independence finland

Yeah I was thinking I should do that! Going to go buy some groceries tomorrow and might share it then! :)

Thanks for reading :)

you can do that @strawhat
good informations
thank you for sharing

Congrats to Finland and nice post

Thank you :)

wow what a day that would be for the people of finland happy birthday finland :D

Yeah it's gonna be a good day :)

My descendants (grandmother and her family) are from Finland and came to the U.S. back in 1893. Finland gained its independence in 1917 after much conflict with Sweden and then Russia.

Thank you for the great information. I will definitely be celebrating this landmark 100 years of freedom and independence for Finland.

Thank you for reading! :) Happy to hear you will celebrate as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49