Morning Mist

in #finland6 years ago (edited)

I drove my daughter to school at about eight. There was mist in the air. Quite a lot of it actually. The nights are getting longer and colder. We're clearly into the tail end of the summer. We had a couple of days of hot weather (about 30 C) a week ago on Thursday and Friday. Since then, it's been pretty normal at around 20-25 C in the afternoon. I drove to Lake Mytäjäinen, the same lake I went for a swim in last Friday, close to the city centre on the way home. The lake, or pond really, is very close to the railway. I walked on the south side of the lake to take a few photos of the railway and some train cars parked on the side tracks.

20180817_080708

Lake Mytäjäinen

20180817_080814

Mallards. Despite the prohibition to feed birds these guys look quite fat. They were in no particular hurry to get out of my way.

20180817_081329

This is a public road right next to the southern edge of Mytäjäinen. What you're looking at is the main railway. No fences here at all.

20180817_081329 (2)

Do you find the black and white version better?

20180817_081427

You can barely see Mytäjäinen.

20180817_081427 (2)

B&W. Better?

20180817_081838

Some tens of meters toward the railway station there were switches on the side of the road. The yellow ones are new and the gray ones are old. They're being replaced according to a schedule. I had a chat with a man who was replacing an utility pole nearby.

20180817_084153

One of the new ones. It doesn't look brand new at all. But I'm just repeating what the utility pole guy told me.

20180817_084203

One of the older ones.

20180817_084138

The guy taking down the utility pole was driving that lorry. When I was photographing the train cars on the right he struck up a conversation with me. I thought he'd tell me that what I was doing was forbidden and that I should bugger off. But no. He asked me if I were some kind of hobbyist. We had a surprisingly long conversation. I could be imagining things but it appeared as if the employees had been instructed to keep an eye on civilians showing interest in things in the rail yard. That road is public and part of the street network of Lahti and I had every right to be there, though.

20180817_084138 (2)

Which version do you prefer?

20180817_082029

I prefer the black and white versions.

20180817_082106

It wasn't really that long, maybe 5-7 cars. But the mist makes it look like it continued forever.

20180817_083149

Those cars are Russian. The utility pole man thought they were probably used for transporting coal. There is a coal mine in Vorkuta just north of the Ural mountains and the arctic circle about 2500 km from here.

20180817_084550

On the way back to my car, I walked down to the lake shore and found this metal part leaning against a platform. It looks like part of a train wheel. It looks very rusty.

20180817_084604

Here's a close-up of one of the rusty parts. Notice the cobweb.

Sort:  

Mist is great for black and white photography. Liked them best.

Posted using Partiko Android

These pics turned out great. And yeah these do look really good in B&W

Looks like your summer time is coming to a close.

Not quite yet. I expect to be able to comfortably go out wearing shorts and a t-shirt for about 3-4 weeks. Autumn means the the trees are mostly yellow and that you have to wear a jacket or a sweater when you go out.

I like high contrast black and white with the sky like that.

I have noticed especially with my phone camera that photos show less fog than my eye at the time. I have heard a few others that have noticed it too.

If my memory serves me correctly, I'd say that the pictures look pretty similar to what I saw.

I enjoy the foggy days for photography too as the muted colours and soft lines brings a stillness and mystery to the shots. Good pics mate.

Autumn has many opportunities for B&W photography and interesting colors as well.

What a pity!... The images do not want to load.

They're on Flickr. I wonder what's wrong. Perhaps your internet connection?

I meant that it's my connection. I have two days with bad connection.

I meant that it's my
Connection. I have two days
With bad connection.

                 - cinefilo


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

That's because it's not the first time I have a bad connection. @haikubot I invite you to venezuela so that you certify the times that the light goes out, the internet, the gas, telephony and the food is over.
¡¡¡OCUPATE!!!

excellent black and white photographs, it is also worth noting that summer is about to end

Not really. I expect the summer to continue for another 3-4 weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66