The Greenhouse Project

in #finland6 years ago (edited)

This could be a super fancy online project OR even a new cryptocurrency. "Greenhouse coin".

I'm not sure if it's a good or bad thing, I like greenhouses but people usually think of the greenhouse effect, which is not what I'm thinking of first. At best, I can even get someone comment on this post how climate change is fake.

This is a more boring post than that, especially with very limited amount of photos.

Kesä - 001 – kopio.JPG
Spoiler! The before AND after photo

However, we had a small project to build up our own small greenhouse from the timber we had in our garage. We had a "glass roof" for this, made from two old windows and this had been giving some cover to low growing plants when the weather was a bit chillier.

The plan was to use the timber to build a sturdy body for the greenhouse, have the top from glass and add some panels on the sides. First issue was that we had only random timber left by the previous house owners, but we managed to scrape up some decent stuff to start the constructing with.

My wife had measured the correct length for all pieces needed and she had cut the timber to correct sizes. There were some adjustments required afterwards though, as not all timber was straight. Hehe

The main "legs" which the roof would stand on was an issue though, as we were unsure what would be the best way to attach them. The roof had no straight bottom, as it was tilted 45 degrees. We were thinking of cutting the top of timber 45 degrees or adding some extra boards so we could attach the roof to the wooden body. We ended up in making a notch to hold the roof, while still allowing us to add screws from the sides easily.

Our largest issue was this - should we spin around the heavy glass roof and attach the timber "legs" to it and then lift it up OR build the body first and then lift the glass roof on top of the body.

We ended up in building the body first but in two separate pieces, then attaching them to the glass roof before lifting it up. This was the part which we handled almost perfectly. We even laughed and had fun.

Amazing times.

They lasted only until we finished the greenhouse, as we quickly noticed it was extremely shaky. The glass roof was far too heavy and as the greenhouse was high, it didn't seem safe at all.

I had a suggestion to my wife:

Let's ditch this idea and buy a real greenhouse.

My wife however wanted to try something else - we should make the greenhouse lower so it wouldn't be as unsteady.

We started to take apart the reinforcing structures so my wife could start sawing the "legs" shorter. At this point, when re-attaching the reinforcing structures, the cordless screwdriver ran out of battery. We had to take a short pause from the work.

After rebuilding the greenhouse as a lower version.. it was still really unsteady. The structure was shaking when you touched it, so we were worried how it would react to children, weather and actually using the greenhouse.

My wife was still determined and went to look for more timber.

After working for over 30 minutes more, she finally came up to me saying "Fuck this shit" (she didn't actually say that, but I could see that in her face)

The greenhouse didn't get any better and it would have been only a matter of time it would have come crashing down. The only way to make it sturdy enough would have made it inconvenient to use, as we wanted a small, fun greenhouse to use.

So now we are checking online for greenhouses. This could have saved us 3-4 hours of our lives.

Kesä - 002 – kopio.JPG

And yes, the reason I don't have any photos from the construction phases is the fact it was a terrible project and I was a bit pissed off most of the time. Hopefully I'll get you a photo of our real greenhouse construction project.

Bonus round!

As a bonus, you can purchase this high quality cherry tree.

Some assembly required.

Kesä - 003 – kopio.JPG
Kesä - 004 – kopio.JPG

Sort:  

lmao those last 2 photos and quote are gold :)

Thanks! I wish they were actual gold though, wouldn't have had to collect all that from the ground myself.

If you had posted pictures of what it looked like, people could suggest changes to make it more sturdy.

I know that and as this was not a post asking for help, I didn't do it. ;)

One of the main reasons for this is that nobody knows what kind of timber we still had in the garage. If we would have needed to separately purchase anything, it would had ruined the idea of our project.

Also the fact I'm happy this failed.

@apsu, at least you guys tried. I know how it feels to want to complete a project no matter the odds stacked against you. It can be discouraging but there is always something to learn.

Well we tried. It was more my wifes project anyway and I was never truly with all my soul and heart in this project.

It was fun to build something though. It's always fun when you can use tools.

this photo nice.but i am were worried how it would react to children, weather and actually using the greenhouse.

Well the kids part worries me too a bit, with old glass and everything so it might be a bit fragile.

I feel like this could have been written by me, seeing our conditions are more or less similar - some leftovers left by previous house owners as the source materials, possibly not-so-clear idea of what and how to build, and an unreliable result.

Despite what I wrote in the reply to you on my post, I might still set up some sort of a shelter for the plants this summer. I do remember seeing some pretty sturdy pieces of timber in the pile I have, and I can get more from my parents if needed. The only thing I'm missing entirely is glass or plastic for the roof and walls, but that I may be able to buy somewhat cheap if I only use a film rather than solid sheets.

How's your greenhouse project advancing? (Found the newer post, never mind...) I'm probably going to invest in a commercial one as well once I'm done with the more urgent purchases, so I'm eager to hear of your experience if you buy and build one.

I do recommend a commercial one, unless you actually have a lot of good quality materials and/or you're really skilled craftsman. I'm not one and I'm sure someone else could have put those materials in better use.

However with commercial ones you usually only need to follow the instructions and you'll get it done. Usually with help of a friend - this is what I really recommend, don't try putting one together alone.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67