Spoon-fed Memories... A Finish The Story Entry

in #finishthestory6 years ago

woman-65675_1920.jpg
Pixabay

“When I was your age, I was quite the wild one. Ahhh that look, that ‘sure granny’ look, well if you don’t believe me.”

The underpaid nurse attempting to spoon feed the elderly lady sat, heaped spoon waiting for a pause between words.

“I had quite the adventure, back when I was twenty-two, I never told your mam about this one”

Susie suppressed a sigh, every resident took her as a different relative. They used a warm, familiar tone with her, looking into her eyes, and seeing those of another. She’d given up correcting them, not one of them could remember her name.

“It was during the war, your grandpa worked intelligence out of one of those top secret northern bunkers, that’s where he got that compass you used to love playing with.”

There was something about never been seen as herself that was starting to eat at Susie. At first, she’d pitied them, unable to see things for what they were, but as time went by, every word spoken to her, meant for another, began to cut.

“It’s been two months since i’d had a letter from him, and well, you can imagine what I thought when a man in uniform knocked at the door.”

Finally catching a pause in the residents flow, Susie swooped in with a spoon full of buttery mash, beaded with peas. For loud, sloppy moments the lady chewed, and trying to draw on her compassion, Susie smiled, scooping up another spoonful.

“Well my heart dropped and I nearly fainted before he could speak. That awkward young officer grabbed my hands, looking me firm in the eyes, ‘He’s not dead Mrs Ellerton, he’s fine, I just need you to come with me’. I’ve never packed a bag so fast in my life!”
Susie quickly exploited the dramatic moment, dropped another spoon of mash, this time laked with stewed beef and gravy, into the open mouth. She used to hate herself for finding those too far gone to chatter away easier, avoiding the talkers, but despite her best evasions, she’d got stuck with conversational Mrs Ellerton today.

“We sped down those country roads, whizzing up north, in hours. He told me nothing on the way, offering only that Nick would tell me when we got there. I’d had no idea what to bring, and had frantically thrown everything I could think of into my bag, as we drove up I began to realise all the things i’d not thought of, but there was no turning back, I could tell by the way that officer gripped the wheel we were in a hurry!”

Mrs Ellerton wasn’t letting up, Susie glanced at the clock, her shift was due to finish in ten minutes, but she couldn’t go anywhere until the old bag wrapped it up. Putting the spoon down, she tried to fight the rising anger, and decided to try and get Mrs Ellerton to cut to the chase.

“So why had your husband had you brought there?”

"For a reason you wouldn't have thought of dear..." For a moment it seemed like Mrs. Ellerton was going to actually get to the end of the story. So Susie held back from jamming another spoonful into the slightly open mouth.

"...But the story was really in the journey up north." Instantly Susie began to regret the missed chance.

"You see, the war was getting longer and no one could predict when it was all going to come to an end. There were so many different versions of what was happening at the time that it was almost impossible to get any real news from the radio."

Susie sensed a pause was coming and refilled the spoon with anticipation.

"Nick had told me not to bother, so I had tried my best to remain calm throughout his absence." The pause came, and Susie didn't wait. Into the half open mouth went another heaped spoon of buttery mash and peas. After a long pause chewing and swallowing, Mrs. Ellerton continued...

"But sitting there in that car as I was, racing up north with that fine young soldier, I saw first hand what war is truly about." Despite the pause here, something made Susie hold back from rushing in another spoonful.

"The scenes on that road up north were painful." A drop of tear slowly escaped from one of Mrs. Ellerton's eyes. Susie placed the plate down, but didn't try to wipe the tear. Mrs. Ellerton had a distant look in her eyes..

"The grief was almost physical. It seemed like I was staring death in the face, and all the fears I had kept bottled down inside me were suddenly released. How I wept."

Susie tried to suppress the tears slowly forming in her own eyes..

"That fine young soldier was thoughtful. He didn't try to console me. He let me pour out all that I had bottled inside. And it was a lot."

"That day I witnessed what death truly feels like to the living, and I knew..." Mrs. Ellerton paused as if she had forgotten an important detail. Then as she seemed to remember, the distant look left her eyes and she looked straight at Susie..

"That day dear, I knew that it didn't make what I did or didn't pack. It only mattered what I didn't need to pack. What I already had; life, and what I could do with it. I knew that day I wanted to create life. And as soon as we got to the bunker up north where your grandpa was stationed.." Mrs. Ellerton's eyes lit up suddenly. "...We.. your grandpa and I, up north in those mountains, there we made your mam."

Susie smiled, and the tears flowed freely down her cheeks now. She picked up the plate. Somehow it was almost empty, but she had since forgotten about the meal. Mrs. Ellerton's story had had an effect on her which she didn't truly understand. She placed the plate back down on the floor, reached out and held Mrs. Ellerton's hand and looked into the old woman's eyes..

"Thank you." She said in a near whisper.

Mrs. Ellerton smiled. "I told you, when I was your age, I was quite the wild one." Then she also reduced her voice to a whisper.. "Don't Tell your mam that story. She always believed she was born abroad."

Susie smiled and squeezed Mrs. Ellerton's wrinkled hands. As she picked up the plate and left, she knew that in a matter of hours, maybe minutes even, Mrs. Ellerton would have forgotten she ever told her that story. But Susie knew she wouldn't forget, couldn't forget. It was way more than the spoonfuls of memories she had ever been fed in her years of being a nurse.

THE END

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @bananafish's Finish The Story Contest
I hope I did Justice to @calluna's wonderful opening...


PhotoGrid_1497729547627.jpg

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9830949704313593
This post was voted: 100%

Ah, the genetic ending. I say, the prompt was appropriate for this kind of ending reveal. Some would say Grandma really remembered when the aide interrupted her and forced her to quicken the pace.

Ho! I say I must agree with those people. Ho! The patient truly could reevaluate the ecstasy of the scene and think harder on the memory. Ho! Why her tearing up would makes perfect sense when she learnt of her purpose coming North. Ho! To create the first baby without the need of a mother to incubate it is a thing anyone would tear up. Ho! While she wouldn't get the memories of pain (labour) and lugging around a baby in her womb, she'd get to see it created right in front of her eyes.

Yet the implication of such a scene does necessitate (or possibly was generated by "accident") the question. The question of why this method needed to be tested. What was happening in the War that they thought it right to test such a society-changing method? What were they planning way ahead of time other than a scenario of mass-infertility? Supposedly it haunts not the present, but ‘tis rather a mysterious invention regardless.

Withal, mayhaps it be excusable. Or perhaps the fact that the nurse took it in lightly was rather a subtle authorial wink. The wink being that this invention is commonplace by the time of the spoon-fed memory. Regardless if mass-infertility is or isn't a problem, the nurse would have to humour that the invention is older than she thought.

Upvot'd and resteem'd.
Coolio.gif

I just had a massive brain fart trying to understand all of that... 🕵️

I read twice, and thrice, and well... If it isn't @theironfelix, the pirate/philosophical/Shakespearean talker...

But why,
Thank you for your comments. 🧒

Ah, yah cought one o’ me comments comin’ straight outta my tipsyness. Come back in a hour and the comment shall either be fixed better or left alone except for a sign saying this is a tipsy comment.

How can you comment like that, man. It's a mystery to me.

diddo - I can only aspire at the moment.

Very nice story. You turned the character Susie into someone likable, which didn't seem possible in the beginning. And the sadness over the ravages of war Mrs. Ellerton had witnessed was very real.

Thanks for the kind words... Susie seemed too fine a name for an unlikeable fellow... So I guess I had to swoop in and save the lass... 🙃

I'm groping for ideas to complete this story. I see you've done great, writing something very moving and uplifting, and there is also a small final surprise!

I have to say the the character, Susie, dismayed me, as written by @calluna. I guess that was her plan, to get under our skin. But you, and others, have allowed her to develop.
This is a lovely story. You moved it forward in very few words. Quite an accomplishment.

You caught me ;) although, I have been advised I better explain at the end so you don't all think me a horrible person lol

I think you did it perfectly. It's not your role to give us insight...only the opportunity for us to have that insight. Most writers here did a great job with your prompt. A brilliant prompt, I think.

I agree, we have had some really great endings, (this one included <3) and the best part of writing the first half is seeing all the different things people bring to it - I do very much hope you do manage one :)
It would be fun when the round has ended, but part of the beauty of this is the sheer variety of directions it ends up in, and I have been thrilled with everything we've had so far! Looking forward to seeing what we get to go with next time!

When you write... miraculous things happen. In a way, this one is too personal for me. Not only am I old, really old, but one of my brothers was an invalid and my mother used to coax mashed food into his mouth every day. There was so much love in that spoon, no matter how long the feeding took. I think that's why Susie bothered me so much.

I'm eager to know your opinion on DM, author.

Thanks so much for the kind words...

In truth I didn't initially know which direction to go with calluna's opening... But it seemed when I started writing, it was either going to be funny (an old woman being wild doesn't exactly scream enticing) or touching. So I settled for the latter. I guess I made the perfect choice.

I knew that it didn't make what I did or didn't pack. It only mattered what I didn't need to pack. What I already had; life, and what I could do with it. I knew that day I wanted to create life.

I like this line. deep

Congrats on the curie.

Massive one here buddy.. Glad you got the attention it deserves.
#bigwaves

This is a very well put together ending. You do an amazing job of replicating the contrast between susie and mrs ellerton, and manage to bring both characters all the way to the end maintaining the balance between them.

i really like you you brought the story back around, and it became about the horrors of war, the way it hits someone, seeing it for the first time, and the urge death creates for life. Some beautiful turns of phrase in here.

The actual story you tell works so well, the oblivious way in which she touches susies life, providing a wider context, and forcing her to think about things. Also, really love the implication she could have told this 'untold' story many times over, and just forgot. So many fantastic little touches in here, a very well rounded off ending, exceptionally deserving of the curie!

This is a beautiful story! Bringing in her reactions to the pain and devastation from war was powerful. It was the perfect way to lead into her want to bring life into the world. To bring in love. Having the story come back around to touch Susie's heart was brilliant!

Congrats for receiving a vote from the Curie community!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36