You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Road Home: Finish the Story Contest #44

in #finishthestory6 years ago (edited)

This is an edifying story of an apparent victory, which precedes a substantial victory, ie that which leads to an improvement of oneself. I also read the ending of @stever82 with the same dynamic, that is Mr. Renhe Ren that takes the place of his deceased enemy to "repay the debt" (I did not check which of the two posted first and I'm not here to allude anything I like them both). This trope somehow brings to mind some customs of the Native American tribes, in which the killer had to take the place left vacant by his victim in society. it is a very interesting theme, a "penalty" that can also be seen as a reward.

Sort:  

I believe mine posted a day earlier, but the development of redemption through sacrifice is a natural extension of your prompt, I think. And it is a reward, a release from being unaware. Once the moment of enlightenment strikes, Renhe is free.
Thanks for your comment. I haven't read @stever82's yet, but now I'm curious.
PS (edit)
If memory serves me right, the only story up when I posted was @Amirani's

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49