You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cockroach Rules: Finish the Story Contest #45

in #finishthestory5 years ago (edited)

Whoa. You let your imagination run wild. A very good idea to leave the human perspective and take the strategy out of the cockroach's eyes. Overcoming disgust is really not easy. But what you write as a writer is so different from what you read as a reader. As an author, you have to be able to put yourself in all worlds, no matter how strange they may be. Of course we never really leave our human perspective, but even a rapprochement like this to something else holds the possibility to feel useful as a cockroach and to accept that we have to feed ourselves as normal. For the cockroach the human being is a found food. Only good that we can never grasp the true thoughts of other creatures.

Your additional information is really gold. It's nice that you gave a wider story and illuminated more than one aspect. You have a morbid taste, that's for sure! :)

Sort:  

Nice to see you around Erika ☺️

Thanks and hey, you! I am just peeping in but too busy to participate in finish the story. My own content keeps me busy:)

Thank you! I didn't really have to stretch my imagination too far. I actually did have nightmares back then about cockroaches crawling on me. Coming from a nice, clean, quiet country environment, I found the roaches horrifying. Surrounded, suddenly and inescapably, by people and insects.

Doing the research was fun. Waiting for your entry into finish the story :)

:) the absence of cockroaches speaks for cleanliness? Interesting. Or I think they also were there where you grew up but had plenty of other food sources.

My friend in California certainly dislikes them and gets the creeps having them in her home. I think I would feel the same. Even spiders make me uneasy and when I see them I put them into a jar and throw them down my balcony.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70