Finish the Fiction Story Contest - Spoon-fed Memories

by @calluna

"When I was your age, I was quite the wild one. Ahhh that look, that 'sure granny' look, well if you don't believe me."

The underpaid nurse attempting to spoon feed the elderly lady sat, heaped spoon waiting for a pause between words.

"I had quite the adventure, back when I was twenty-two, I never told your mam about this one."

Susie suppressed a sigh, every resident took her as a different relative. They used a warm, familiar tone with her, looking into her eyes, and seeing those of another. She'd given up correcting them, not one of them could remember her name.

"It was during the war, your grandpa worked intelligence out of one of those top secret northern bunkers, that's where he got that compass you used to love playing with."

There was something about never being seen as herself that was starting to eat at Susie. At first, she'd pitied them, unable to see things for what they were, but as time went by, every word spoken to her, meant for another, began to cut.

"It's been two months since I'd had a letter from him, and well, you can imagine what I thought when a man in uniform knocked at the door."

Finally catching a pause in the resident's flow, Susie swooped in with a spoon full of buttery mash, beaded with peas. For loud, sloppy moments the lady chewed, and trying to draw on her compassion, Susie smiled, scooping up another spoonful.

"Well my heart dropped and I nearly fainted before he could speak. That awkward young officer grabbed my hands, looking me firm in the eyes, 'He's not dead Mrs Ellerton, he's fine, I just need you to come with me'. I've never packed a bag so fast in my life!"

Susie quickly exploited the dramatic moment, dropped another spoon of mash, this time laked with stewed beef and gravy, into the open mouth. She used to hate herself for finding those too far gone to chatter away easier, avoiding the talkers, but despite her best evasions, she'd got stuck with conversational Mrs Ellerton today.

"We sped down those country roads, whizzing up north, in hours. He told me nothing on the way, offering only that Nick would tell me when we got there. I'd had no idea what to bring, and had frantically thrown everything I could think of into my bag, as we drove up I began to realise all the things I'd not thought of, but there was no turning back, I could tell by the way that officer gripped the wheel we were in a hurry!"

Mrs Ellerton wasn't letting up, Susie glanced at the clock, her shift was due to finish in ten minutes, but she couldn't go anywhere until the old bag wrapped it up. Putting the spoon down, she tried to fight the rising anger, and decided to try and get Mrs Ellerton to cut to the chase.

"So why had your husband brought you there?"


ending by @erh.germany

Just as Mrs. Ellerton was about to speak, Natalie came in. With a look at Susie sitting on the edge of her chair, the older colleague oversaw the situation.

"Go ahead", she addressed Susie, "I'll take over from now on."

Relieved and careless, Susie put spoon and plate down, rose quickly, while Mrs. Ellerton, slightly irritated, watched the shift change. Without even providing a word of explanation, Susie hurried away, already thinking of Tom, with whom she would pull one through later on. Natalie should listen to the crazy stuff. She didn't care to be taken for all the daughters of the nation anyway.

When the door slammed shut, Mrs. Ellerton continued as if nothing had happened.

"I am glad, child, that you are ready to listen to me", she said to Natalie, who had pushed the food aside, made herself comfortable and leaned her chin on her hands.

"And he wasn't my husband yet! You remember Grandpa Nick, don't you?", Mrs. Ellerton reassured herself.

Natalie nodded.

"Yes, darling, yes! You also know that your grandpa Nick was a physicist, don't you? Well, he worked with the British government. They built nuclear weapons during the war! But I didn't know that at the time! My goodness, I was so excited because the young man and I finally arrived up in Kenton Bar, at Newcastle. And what can I say! Deep down I followed him, because the main entrance to the bunker was actually hidden in a small guard house."

Now Natalie smiled. She knew the Kenton Bar bunker. Nick Catford, historian and photographer and member of Subterranea Britannica, had discovered the secret of Kenton Bar.

"How was it when you arrived downstairs?", she asked Mrs. Ellerton.

This one beamed. "Girl, I will never forget it! Down and down it went, stairs by stairs, and creepily along narrow corridors . And finally I arrived in a room that looked like a command center and to my amazement nobody was there except my Nick! Remember, I was only twenty-two and hadn't seen much of the world except a week of southern England with a cousin! And then all those calculating machines! Huge things, I tell you, and in the middle of them my Nick and then he tells me: My dear Hatty, the war is finally over and I really wanted to see you and give you something."

"What was it Mrs. Ellerton, what did he give you?"

Natalie saw that Mrs. Ellerton had woven herself an exciting story around her life and she would be the last to spoil the fun. Mr. Green vis-à-vis had already vividly told her how he dined with an Indian sheikh in the Orient, entertaining her in a most excellent way.

"This one!" Mrs. Ellerton, opening her hand, showed her said compass, which she used to carry around in her bathrobe.

"I give it to you now because I don't need it anymore. It will show you the way." With sparkling eyes she continued: "Down there, in the bunker, Nick has told me that a wormhole will open. In three years, to be exact. Well, he is no longer and my time will come soon. That is why you should have the compass, my dear. It will guide you, so that you know where to go! Promise me that you will use it, yes?"

"I promise." The compass that was still warm from Mrs. Ellerton's grip slipped into Natalies pocket.

Later, when the old lady had fallen asleep, she would put it back. Then Mrs. Ellerton yawned and returned to the pillows. Soon her eyes closed. Natalie sat with her for a while, then smoothed the blanket, rose and quietly left the room.


Photo by Jordan Madrid on Unsplash


After a short steemit break I couldn't resist to write the finishing part to @calluna s story. It touched me and I wanted to write for the elderlies in the nursery homes.

Here you find the details about the great @bananafish s initiative and other contests as well. Have fun!


Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9828231138830343
This post was voted: 100%

Now note I did wrote my comment here since yesterday, I just hadn't actually clicked the "Post" button. Woops. And then I accidentally pressed the "cancel" button, but thankfully I ctrl+A and ctrl+C it before. A good habbit to do when in a rush to do something else, never know when yer fingers will slip up.

Ah, straight from the start of the ending, we get a nice role-swap in. So while we can see the general attitude, we can now shift towards the calm embers of the night sky. Or to say the obnoxious trope literally: the transition towards midnight or ending a story under a night-sky. Oh so delicate is Natalie to our previous aide, Susie, and how she listens carefully. Which breaks much of the breaking tempo that Susie was emitting from her character and let's free a smooth river flow of story-telling.

Instead of there being a forceful ram to remind the reader of the setting, we can immerse in the story within the story. To forget, temporally, the nursing home setting to immerse in the yesteryears of the patient's life. To be lost as her in a bunker filled with many passages and unoccupied spaces. To know not what could come next as all was hidden from her until she travelled a section of the bunker. And to finally feel deserved of seeing her husband/boyfriend as they finally met each other.

Though we have no clue of Natalie's life, she finally saw through the alienations that life was imposing on her and developed her consciousness more than Susie's. She realized the class interests of others and thought it wrong to take a compass, though she had been expressly told to take it. Natalie knew that, even if it was morally questionable, she would be questioned for taking something out of the room and that the patient may go in a disarray to see her compass taken away the day after. Not only that, 'twas the remaining objects the patient had to even connect to the memory of her long dead husband.

And while Susie could've taken the compass if she was in Natalie's place, the story reflects the fact that Natalie grew her consciousness more to see past individual survival and to help better society in a different way.

Now, I do wonder what'll happen in three years time in tangent to the story. The news would probably be raving right now about it and Natalie would be scratching her head and say: "huh, should've noted down the general direction the compass was pointing." But if she was curious to explore the area, she'd probably have a mental note of where the compass was pointing at. (Anyways, check my reply to yer reply on the disagreements. I realized that I misread thy reply, which was a misreading of my comment to an ending, and I decided to take the courage to make restate my position in another way. All really so it would fix the error in perception I should've fixed to begin with. I'll just let my re-re-reply just do the job and thou can reply there.)

Upvot'd and resteem'd.
Coolio.gif

It's all good. Thank you for taking time to be precise.
You did a very thorough job in discussing the elements. I appreciate that a lot. This in particular tells the intention behind:

Natalie knew that, even if it was morally questionable, she would be questioned for taking something out of the room and that the patient may go in a disarray to see her compass taken away the day after. Not only that, 'twas the remaining objects the patient had to even connect to the memory of her long dead husband.

And while Susie could've taken the compass if she was in Natalie's place, the story reflects the fact that Natalie grew her consciousness more to see past individual survival and to help better society in a different way.

I maybe will come back to your other comment, not on my blog.
Meanwhile so many things happened during the day, that I have difficulties to find back into the mood.

Many greetings to you!

Welcome back, Erika! You return in splendor. Your story reveals an immutable truth. The helpless become a barometer of our character.
I very much enjoyed your 'ending'. So glad you decided to share it with us.

Very much so, you nailed it. I totally disliked the Susie character and wanted her out of the room:) At the same time, I had the intention to install a more wise character who does not look down on Susie, as how she behaves is quite realistic and one also can feel empathy for her. In the long run, Natalie could be a role model to Susie, which is the only way that she may change her self centered attitude towards the elders. If Natalie would have accused her critically, this would have had only the effect that Susie became more defensive.

You're absolutely right. Natalie is an excellent role model and we don't learn from those who disapprove of us. We close our ears to them.
You comment reflected the wisdom and maturity of Natalie :)

I love Natalie, counterposed to Susie. You took an active role in the storyline building by inserting a new character who, in a way, amends for the first one. This, in particular, is valuable in the perspective of what the contest fosters, a.k.a. walking off the beaten track. I found the dialogue particularly immersive and found myself trying to guess what was Nick's special gift. Your ending is very sweet, like a balm for the reader's mind.

So glad, you are saying this.
A very quiet good night from here to you.

Natalie seems like a good girl. Good listener.

Indeed, she is a good woman. I wanted to show that the difference in people make the story. And how one can switch from feeling petty and boredom towards the old ones, one also can take on a different attitude. @calluna gave a very good entrance in picking this up. There is nothing fancy in the way I told the finishing part:)

Welcome back Erh.germany! (I hope that you're feeling better!)

There are so many wonderful caregivers out there that are honorable and kind and I love that you brought in Natalie to portray this in stark contrast to Susie. No matter their mental capacity, everyone deserves to be treated with respect and understanding. To be given a kind ear to listen so that they feel heard.

Your ending made me smile and I thank you for that.

thank you.
yes, very much so. It once could be us, no? ;-)
very pleased that it made you smile.

I enjoyed your story! Yes, I agree Susie wasn't a good person. I hope in your story that she did learn some compassion from a good role model. And it makes us happy that Mrs. Ellerton had a sympathetic ear in what could have been her last hours.

Thank you.
Yes, I thought too that it could have been Mrs. Ellertons last hours. That is sensitive of you to point out. Let's hope that Susie is learning and that she'll have much more good role models (we all can be).
Greetings!

This is the difference between being at the end of the shift, exhausted, and being at the beginning of the sihft, refreshed!
I'm joking, a very poetic ending, brava!

haha, good point, though!
Thank you, I somehow like it when you say "brava". That is such a fresh expression.

Nice ending! I don't want her to put the compass back though, I want her to go through the wormhole! ;)

funny, you!
;)

Hello fellow potassiumnite! Finish the Story contest edition n. 37 has arrived.. will you be brave enough and try your pen with us?

thanks for the reminder. I'll visit the next days and see what you've got. Tonight: busy with cooking and son. :)

Have a terrific week-end! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70