You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Young John, Adrift in a Pirate Ship: Finish the Story Contest #35

in #finishthestory6 years ago (edited)

I liked the historical insight. With you, my friend, I allow myself to keep some more degree of sincerity: I found your second "begin the story" experiment less engaging than the first one. @theironfelix's cliffhanger demanded a continuation but I've found your first part also a bit less immersive than usual (show don't tell rule). I hope that you'll read my comment as a constructive critic, which is what it is 😉 Having said this, the story is accurate and polished. A quality piece who receives its value from the research behind it and the pleasant change of perspective.

Sort:  

Ah, @bananafish--you go to the heart of my dilemma this week.
I would not be a pirate, and I would not engage in battle. At my age, you get an idea of what you will or will not do. However, I did want to support finishthestory by writing a piece. So I threw myself on my sword, recognizing that my story would be out of step.
Still, I think every voice (that is positive) adds to the creative environment. My dissonance, I believe, added something to the mix. My young John offered a different perspective on piracy and battle.
There were more creative ways to go....@michaias rendered the battlers mad. @marcoriccardi had the forces for good on the prowl. Each of them, though, engaged in the fray. Not me. My heart was elsewhere, with the consequences of violence.
I do appreciate your sincerity. Always feel free--that sincerity gives me another opportunity to explain why violence, battles, and war are never glamorous, in my view.
I add here: One of the best things about the Bananafish realm: It is peaceful :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59264.94
ETH 2604.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38