#the100dayproject Day 2: watercolor maple leaves

in #fineartnow6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4241.jpg

For my 2nd day of #the100dayproject I decided to do a maple branch in autumn. My step father studies trees for a living and his family has a small maple farm, so I thought it would make a nice gift when we visit my family later this month.

As usual I started with a pencil sketch and then went over that in sharpie before filling in the colors with watercolor. I had a little trouble with the background being uneven...I'm still finding that tricky. I could use masking fluid on the leaves next time and just do a wash over the whole thing, but I'd like to be able to figure it out without that step because that would add a lot of time to each project.

Want to learn more about the 100 day project and take part? its a great way to challenge yourself creatively! You can learn more about it here. Let me know if you're taking part, I'd love to follow everyone's progress!

IMG_4218.JPG

IMG_4220.JPG

IMG_4221.JPG

IMG_4227.JPG

IMG_4240.JPG

.
.
.
Follow me for more travel, art, and music related content. Let me know you're following and I'll follow you back! :)
Terminal Blue: custom painting and design
Red Finch Design & Author Services
Terminal Blue on Instagram
JewelrybyBazil on Instagram
Red Finch Design on Instagram
Handmade natural stone and wire jewelry on Etsy
Red Finch designs, watercolors, and original art on CafePress
Red Finch patterns, watercolors, and paintings on RedBubble

Sort:  

Cool idea.. I like to do the same with my cats image

I love this! following you :)

Lovely work. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40