You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eli (horror film) : A few good jump scares but mostly kinda boring / annoying

in #films5 years ago

haha, the exorcist messed me up when I was a kid. Actually the first movie I remember that scared the crap out of me was Rosemary's Baby.. But weirdly, for different reasons than one might expect. I don't remember much about the movie, but I remember being really small when I saw it... There is a part where a bunch of people are sitting around yelling out praise Satan, but they are all wholesome looking like Christians.

It seems quite mild by today's standards, but I had never imagined devil worshippers being normal looking people. I guess it was sort of a life lesson on how things aren't always what they seem.

Sort:  

The Omen had a similar effect on me too. I went back not long ago to rewatch it and was like "this made you scared as a kid?"

I think that a big part of it was I was attending Catholic school as a child and was subjected to the fear of Satan on a regular basis. As i grew up...well, you know. I turned to the dark lord in my music and realized that he isn't really out to get me (j/k - just trying to say i am not a religious person.)

Sometimes I think we should leave these scary memories in the past for sure. I have intentionally not rewatched Children of the Corn for that reason.

DIdn't Rosemary's Baby win a bunch of awards? I'm not sure I have even ever seen that one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39