Movie Review - Mortal Kombat : An*l-ation

in #films6 years ago

Hello Steemian,
I hope you all are doing great and I am doing fine too. Even though my head still hurts from all that drinking on Sunday. But It ain't the hangover, but the side effects of a movie which had me at its crosshair. I am still wondering why was I lying on the floor like a dead mouse when all I had was a beer. My Steemit buddy @vincentnijman suggested this movie to me a couple of days back and actually It was my idea, I went looking for this suck fest. I asked him which is worst movie you have seen and the reply came as a sequel to 1995 movie Mortal Kombat. I know the movies based on video games has a bad reputation, But I was wondering how bad It can get, Plus the statement from @vincentnijman about not being able to sit through the movie got me interested in it, And man!! he was right.

Since I knew its a sequel, I decided to watch the first part. But before that, I wanted to feel the rage and excitement and downloaded the MK game and played it for a couple of hours and now I was primed for the movies. The first one was difficult to watch because they reduced one of my favorite character Raiden (God of thunder) to Movie Raiden (God of Walk-through). But the movie was bad but not that bad. I mean I had seen movies which I rather not mention today. Still, I wouldn't consider this to be the absolute worst, And then I realized that I was supposed to watch the Sequel "Mortal Kombat: Annihilation"

MK2.jpg
Image Source

Spoilers: I know many of you hadn't seen the movie yet, And I respect your choice. But if you are planning on watching this abomination. Heed my warning, You may lose your soul. I have nothing more to say.

The movie starts where the Mortal Kombat ended the lead characters walking in the temple of light, where he is joined by strangers. Later you would know that half of the cast has been switched. Yes!!! That is what happened the characters, Sonia was switched, Johnny was Switched and even Raiden was switched from 'I swear I have seen him somewhere' to Harry Morgan, Dexter's Dad. Even though the previous actor hadn't done anything in the movie but I still looked a Little more like Raiden than this new Raiden. Anyway, why should I complain about such a silly thing when I have another hour and a half to crying about things.

Just like the first movie this movie too introduces us the Villian in the beginning, The Shou Kahn is introduced alongside his sidekicks and I have only one thing to say to their introduction, Bad Writing and even worst acting. And not just him, My the entire group of people in it. I would really love to fix the movie If I ever get a chance. I know I may not be a good actor, But It can't be that bad... Right??? Take the example of the queen Sindel. She is the mother of the 10000-year-old katana, (Just roll with it) And katana just encountered her when she appeared alongside the Shou Kahn.

Katana : Mother You are alive
Sindel : Too Bad you (Pause) will die.

too bad you will die.gif

And I was like, Too bad you got this line..
Trust me we are just 4 minutes in the movie, in which 1min is for opening credit. It is too early for stupid dialogues and dialogues deliveries.

And the setting itself is bad, It starts immediately after the first part ending. Like these heroes saved the earth from Shang Tsung the Villain from the first part and literally after 30 secs another world ending event was kicked off, I would suck to be a mortal in that world.

So johnny gets killed because of Raidens stupidity. I mean if he could take the all the generals of show kahn just by pointing finger at them, I don't understand why does he gets his ass kicked so many times. But I am happy, Taking johnny out is a good move. I consider that as one less badly written character although poor johnny didn't even get to show his acting skills, But I am ok with that. So the Raiden makes a brilliant plan of recruiting more peoples at least that what the plan is . Because the Lead Liu Kang went on a soul searching mission, where he fights Nightwolf's animality and Jades sexuality (sex appeal) which are supposed to be the some kinda of tests. And Sonia is joined by her partner Jax played by an athlete turned actor who doesn't have a Wiki page.

From this point out It is pure action film if you consider, People jumping and flipping and doing somersaults and handstands as action. I was surprised to see this movie is filled with so many character and yet failed to utilized the characters, I mean scorpion and Subzero were there for few minutes. Ninja Cyborgs were there for few minutes, Sexy looking ninja lady in red ninja shirt and black pants and with beautiful blue eyes was there for a couple of minutes.

Raiden scarified his immortalities and god status to fight alongside humans and they all travel to outworld to confront Shou Kahn and his generals. Where Jax fight a centaur, Katana fights Sindel and Sonia fights the leftover. And that is not my joke, She described one of the general who always stood by Shao kahn as the leftover. The movie didn't care to name that guy. Raiden got his ass handed over to him and dies. Jax, Katana and Sonia wins their fights. Liu Kang and shao kahn engages in a fierce battle where Liu turned into a green colored dragon and ShaoKahn turned into and unfinished animation. (I really don't what it was supposed to be...) and Liu kang kill shao kahn and everybody returns to their home.

And that was the Mortal Kombat Annihilation. I guess it did its best to be in this Bad movie category, This movie is full of fight, I understand that this I based on a fighting game, But Flipping, jumping and backflips are not fight. And under all that bad acting and writing and flips and jump, I think there is a Plot but I know the moment shao kahn and sindel spoke you had given up on the movie.

STUPID MOVIE
Stupid Movie.gif

For those who are interested in the plot and characters, The Red Ninja was supposed to be ermac, a powerful sidekick and badass and the sexy lady with the blue eye was Dana Hee a taekwando gold medalist at olympics level.. And I think the character was supposed to be maleeena; And the movie sucks, But the soundtrack rocks
And I would like to thank @vincentnijman for challenging me for this movie and Carlsberg beer without which this would have been a terrible and painful movie to sit through.

EOD.png

I am inuke.png

This movie made me wish that I had quanchi's power of teleporatation stomp so that I can teach the movie how it is done. :-)
Please note that all the comments were on the performance and not on the actors. I am sure I would love to meet them and real life and would definatly ask 'what were you thinking?'
EOD.png

inuke2.png

Also I am a proud member of Indiaunited a community committed to help and support quality contents and guide the new minnows. If are new to Steem and has no clue please join our IndiaUnited Discord Channel. Do check, IndiaUnited trail, a dedicated trail to support fellow steemians to write and promote quality content, Community growth is the precursor to Individual growth. To find more about the trail, please visit : Indiaunited Curation trail

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sort:  

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited Community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thanks for the review. if you like, do try to watch the mortal instruments - city of bones- the only movie in the book series which was made into a cinema. MAny people deem it as a failure but I liked it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by inuke (Andaman ka Hero) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hahaha! I told you it was bad. Glad you at least enjoyed the Carlsberg.

P.S. I didn't even compare it to the game at the time ( I think ). Although, I might have. I'm just not sure whether I had played it before watching Mortal Kombat 2. I might not. I played a lot of Tekken.

No matter what, it sucked big time. Imagine being a film student and watching this...

Hope you felt better after venting though.

Hahaha, Thank from here on out I will think twice before jumping in such movie fest... JK I would never do such a thing ;-)

BTW what I said about the person who had no idea what this movie is about and knowledge that the movie is based on a fighting game would have a really hard time just looking at the screen, see the actors in the ridiculous outfits.

LOL..

Thank for supplying the list, I think I am set for 1 year now ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80