Triple Frontier (film): Ben Affleck does ok in this one

in #films5 years ago

I am not a big fan of Ben Affleck. I feel as thought once he become recognized as a decent actor that he went every friggin way at once and almost none of those directions were good. In recent years I have seen him focus on more of action oriented films and that is where I feel he belongs.


source

This is a story about a bunch of special forces dudes who decide to go to rob a drug lord in South America. Has this been done before? Sure... but I actually feel as though some of this was actually done well.


source

They know guns, they know tactics, they know how to get in and out quickly and undetected. They know exactly how to carry out this mission to a "T" (whatever that means.) but i suppose it wouldn't be much of a film if the one thing that exists for everyone wasn't able to eff them up a bit.


source

The fellas in the film are meant to be military buddies going way back. Lo" and behold a bit of money screws them up big time. This is not an inventive story-line, but the movie actually works except for a few problems.


source

The guys in the team, once timing becomes of paramount importance, argue and waste time constantly and they continue to do so throughout the rest of the film. At first it seemed like a distraction but later on it just becomes frustrating like.... "f**king move already! you know you are running out of time!"

While there are frustrating elements to the completely fictional film, overall I think it is actually pretty good. It carries the pace pretty well the entire way through the film and even though there are absurd, get-moving-already! moments in the movie it is actually done quite well.

The acting is good, the production value is good and I find this to be one of the better movies made by Netflix in the past 6 months or so. I don't like Affleck, so therefore I am probably being a bit meaner than is necessary.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Triple Frontier the rating of........


Just below "Yip Yip Yip"


hqdefault.jpg

Sort:  

I watched this one two days ago and also thought it was ok. Not great but watchable. Time wasting supreme and a bunch of idiots. 120 Million and they messed it up. I think if one of them had a brain it would have been lonely.

It was a boring movie but garnered critics appraisal .The presence of A listers created all the hype and buzz.Thumbs down!

Nice man this sounds and looks pretty good actually! Fairly engaging... I’ll give it a go! As you said, sure it’s been done before, but they can always relive some classic style films, even if they are predictable. I think an engaging film is what I’m always after.

To add, have you seen a film called bad Samaritan? It’s with David tenant. If you haven’t, I’d recommend :)

I saw a commercial for this movie the other day and I mentioned to my wife that it might be something we have to watch. Mostly because of Charlie Hunnam being in it. She is a big fan of his from Sons of Anarchy. I have never really been a big Ben Affleck fan. He was a jerk in Dazed and Confused but he put in a decent performance in "Chasing Amy". Beyond that I can't really think of any one movie that I was really impressed with him after watching it. I might have to shoot over to IMDB now just to refresh my memory. I continue to be impressed by the quality of content that Netflix is putting out lately though.

I'll settle for just grabbing 10k of this money the rest they keep.

I struggled with this film, character-wise. Affleck's character, supposedly the 'iceman' of insurgent tactics, inexplicably departs from the game plan and sows most of the chaos the group suffers after the heist. It didn't compute. More time on his PTSD or other factors that led to his chaotic behavior both during and after the heist. And no... the struggling condo sales and estranged daughter doesn't cut it.

My two cents.

im with you... his departure from his own code, doesn't make sense... neither does the rest of the team's insane attachment to waay too much money that eventually results in their demise

Greetings, friend @gooddream. I like Ben Affleck very much and I thank Netflix for bringing out this film, I am convinced by your appreciation that it is one of the best films made by Netflix, so guided by your excellent review I'm going to see it, no matter if you can say that it is more than what we've already seen previously on this subject.... A hug, my friend.

I am going to watch this movie. From the trailer I think it will be good movie. Ben is a good actor and his last movies are great :)

Just finished watching it, and it was perfect

It wasn't bad

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34