Lucid Dream (Korean film) - A decent movie with some problems

in #films5 years ago

Lucid Dream had a relatively massive budget for a Korean film at $5 million but failed to capture the attention of the Korean audience and was a massive failure at the box office. It is now on Netflix and now that I am back on a Korean film run I decided to watch it despite the fact that I have never heard of director Kim Joon-sung.

MV5BOTllZTlmNDItOTI1MC00MDFiLWE3YzItOGUwOWM1N2RiMWY1XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNDc0Njc1NTY@._V1_.jpg
source

It is considered to be a sci-fi / thriller film despite the fact that most of the elements of the movie take place in modern times. The sci-fi aspects of it come from the fact that the major premise behind the movie is that it is possible to enter your own dreams (and later other people's dreams) in order to better recall events that happened in your life. This is somewhat similar to aspects of The Cell and also Inception.

Go Soo plays the role of the main character Choi Dae-ho, a reporter who one day has his son kidnapped right in front of him and is powerless to stop the act because he has been drugged. Through the magic of the "dream machine" he is able to recall aspects of the crime to police in order to find his kidnapped son as the police investigation has produced no results and the kidnapping occurred many years prior.


source

I don't want to spoil too much of the movie but the above statement is not a spoiler since it is described in both the trailer and the first few minutes of the movie.

The problems

One of them only applies to non-Korean people: There are so many characters in this film that it becomes pretty difficult for any non-Korean to really remember who anyone is referring to during dialogue in the film - Korean names just don't "stick" if that makes any sense. Of course this is not the fault of the Korean filmmaker because they make a film for Koreans to watch and not necessarily the rest of the world.

One major problem i had with this film is that unlike other Korean thrillers, this one is almost completely predictable. There are certain moments that were meant to be "shocking revelations" but mostly they are totally obvious long before the big reveal.

Also, the ending of the movie is completely implausible given the technology that exists in the world and also how much publicity and manpower is put into any investigation involving the abduction of children. Basically, there is no chance that the ending could have possibly taken place (i'm being intentionally vague here.)


source

The pacing of the movie stays consistent and there are very few moments that it seems to drag on. The acting quite good by all people involved but I really feel that if they had just tweaked the story a little bit, it could have been significantly better.

Ultimately I feel as though they kind of dropped the ball on this one but the visual effects are pretty darn good considering the quite low budget of the film and I found the performance of Go Soo (yep, that is really his name) to be compelling enough to warrant giving this movie a chance.

On a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers Penny!" I give Lucid Dream a score of

Slightly above "Meh"

Sort:  

Thanks for the review, as I was going to watch this and I don’t think I Will now to be honest! I could give it a go... but I am looking to find some more decent Korean films. After I watched train to busan, which I thought was awesome, I want to find more foreign films that are the same! I did watch the Japanese battle royale recently and woah was that a crazy one! You seen it?

perhaps we have discussed this before but here are some epic Korean films, some of which are available on Netflix

Oldboy
The Chaser
Memories of Murder
The Suspect
Bedevilled
Peita
I Saw the Devil

Man You should join the real critic group who gets paid on their reviews and ratings!

This sounds like a nice film to watch! But I don’t think I have the time and will soon forget about the name of this film!

You ought to do a second part with important details of the plots of film. I want to know ending!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Obviously I understand your angle, for a movie that seems sci-fi, it's really terrible to know that it's predictable in some ramifications, also so many characters makes people lose focus as to who or who are the protagonists really, but I love the concept of the movie, only that it could've made waves if there was some sense of unpredictability to it really, I'll rather give it a 4/10

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31