Buried (film): The scariest film i have ever seen

in #films6 years ago

This film being called scary can only apply to people who are claustrophobic. Well, i don't think you need to be clinically claustrophobic to have a general fear of being buried alive.

19535837.jpg

Ryan Reynolds stars in this bizarre movie that I initially decided to not watch because I had a lot to do at the time. When I did finally decide to watch it, i have to say that I needed to take breaks, and the film still haunts me periodically to this day.

ryanburied600.jpg

I'm not going to spoil the movie by trying to explain how it is that Paul Conroy (Reynolds) ended up in this predicament but as is explained in the trailer he is a civilian contractor who is working in war-torn Iraq. He wakes up in the coffin and has no idea why. He has a few items in there with him and is contacted on his phone by the people who put him there. That's it! That's all you get. You will have to watch the film to find out more.

What makes this film so amazing is that very little of the movie takes place anywhere outside of the box, but yet the film remains captivating for the full time. Despite the fact that this movie is officially categorized as a "psychological thriller," to me it is a horror film as it encapsulates (pun intended) what i consider to be the worst possible way to die.

This movie was nominated for a bunch of awards and won a few of them. It also made back 10x its operating budget.

I can't imagine anyone watching this and not at least feeling uneasy. For me it was difficult to watch at all and it makes me feel a touch nauseous just thinking about it.

8.5 / 10

Sort:  
Loading...

I always find that the best films are the ones that you come across on the spur of the moment, in the middle of the night or when you just happen to be flicking over the channels. I recorded this on the spur of the moment. A few weeks ago. I never got round to watching it until last night and I'm glad I did.

There are so many films out there that are carbon copies of each other and you can almost predict what is going to happen. But 'Buried' is as unpredictable as it is unnerving. This really shouldn't work. The whole movie is set inside a coffin in the middle of some desert in the middle east. It only has one visible actor and several voice actors. The movie shouldn't work but it does. Mainly because of a fantastic script and a deliciously macabre plot.

It keeps you on the edge of your sofa all the way and builds up to a terrific climax. Credit to the main actor who does a wonderful job.

If you haven't seen it. Give it a go. Best film I've watched for a long time.

There's no way in hell I'm watching this movie.. That is quite literally my worst nightmare. Ever since I saw that episode of Alfred Hitchcock Presents titled "Final Escape" when I was a kid.

In the episode, a prison inmate offers to help a half blind grave digger pay for eye surgery if he'll allow him to get into a coffin with another dead inmate so that he can be buried and dug up later. Of course he gets into the coffin, waits underground - but it's taking too long. So he turns over to look at the dead guy only to realize that it's the grave digger. OMG no.

oh yeah. I had forgotten about that episode of TZ, good grief.

That's funny! I thought it was TZ for a long time, but looked it up and it was actually Alfred Hitchcock.

Buried is a film that I was very proud of. It is such a groundbreaking thriller that does a lot with so little. It brings a scary movie experience that one simply cannot forget. All 90 minutes of this film are very fascinating and gripping. The final moments of the movie are some of the most enthralling moments I have ever experienced. During the finale of the film you will want nothing more than to know the final fate of Paul Conroy, and when you finally do, at the close of the film, your jaw will drop and you will be utterly blown away by such a captivating on screen experience. This is a must see.

I watched this great film some years ago and I was really surprised by 2 facts: first one it is about how much it cost in relation ti the beauty of the film. The second aspect is the turning point: one of the greatest I have never seen!!!
Good job, man!

"Buried" gives a unique opportunity to feel the suffocating heat, lack of oxygen, piercing and corrosive sand.
Then the body (simultaneously with the body of Conroy) becomes wet with sweat. Gradually you begin to feel how uncomfortable the uncut wood of the coffin, from which the chips are constantly peeling off and the flattened nails - rusty and terrible - fall off. Moreover, the snake will lay its track inside the crumbling box. In short, a full feeling of immersion in what is happening on the screen.
In a confined space, Ryan Reynolds managed to convey a complex gamut of all kinds of feelings and emotions from panic and desperation to detachment, bitterness and indifference. Perhaps, before Cortes with such masterly mastery, it was only Hitchcock who could emotionally "mock" the audience. Only the maestro of horror was able to think over dramaturgy to such trifles that his fans still watch every film without stopping.
If someone decides that he did not have enough sensations, at the end of the session, you can climb into a natural coffin - exactly the same one in which Polora Conroy spent half an hour underground.

Wow well it's totally thrilling, the feeling of waking up six feet is not exactly pleasing and for a person who may have once been locked up or confined to a place, this would certain bring gory memories to their minds, however I think it's fair to note that the film is captivating, every second seems to count, the makers made it very suspenseful and that's one major thing I like about a movie .
My rating says 8/10 a fine movie indeed.

Yea man this film is awesome! Especially as like you mentioned it’s pretty much all filmed from inside the box! It gives the viewer such an uncomfortable feeling - well it did to me. It’s one of the scariest thoughts for anyone and Ryan Reynolds does a great job in this one. Terrifying! Also really engaging :) good film, great review!

Very few movies are made this way, the sheer rawness of this movie makes it all worth viewing, even though it keeps the same set the whole movie, it keeps you suspended, this is basically the closest thing you will get to the feeling of being buried alive and the movie really grows on you if you understand it.

It's one of the few movies that shows you how cruel, stupid and ignorant some people can be, in my opinion this is something that very few movies is able to capture.

Its raw and has no mercy, one of the most brilliant films i've seen and the acting is awesome, if you like suspension and an awesome thriller you won't be disappointed, a true pearl.

I had never watched physiological thriller earlier, but my pals told me lot about it, and now reading about it through your blog makes me curious to watch it.

did i call it a physiological thriller? oh, that just made me laugh :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36