After (Netflix film) : The trailer gives the entire stupid story

in #films5 years ago

Following my promise I made around 5 months ago to watch literally anything that Netflix recommends to me, I was somewhat obligated to watch this even though after seeing the trailer I, and pretty much anyone else with a brain, knew the entire story.

After_2019_film.png
source

I will go ahead and admit that I did not watch every minute of it, I scanned through a lot of it and that is simply because of the fact that the preview that pops up leaves nothing to the imagination. There are not twists, no surprises in this cookie-cutter teenage drama. It is a teenage / young adult love story and absolutely nothing original happens at any point in the entire 90 minutes or so.

So here's the story: Excellent student and "good girl" named Tessa (played actually quite well by newcomer Josephine Langford) goes off to college, kisses her still-in-high-school-for-another-year boyfriend goodbye and takes all of about 3 days to hook up with someone new.

She meets "Hardin" at a frat party and he is the "bad boy" type (Hardin is played by an actor named Hero Fiennes-Tiffin, who I now hate because he did terribly in this film and no one's first name is "Hero.") How do we know that Hardin is a "bad boy?" Well because he is in college and already has a bunch of tattoos, is anti-social yet adored, and has what I believe to be a British accent. Let's forget the fact that he is maybe 130 lbs soaking wet with a backpack on, he is tough!

Who-Plays-Hardin-Scott-After-Movie.jpg
if I encountered this "bad boy" on the street, i don't know what my reaction would be.... almost certainly not fear

Tess predictably gets into a relationship with Hardin and she has a crisis of conscious because of her relationship with her boyfriend back in her high-school hometown. This doesn't stop her from being romantically involved with him though and whatever... she's in college and I honestly don't care.

I thought it was funny that even this garbage film was not safe from the SJW senseless ire though. They attacked the film for "glorifying unhealthy relationships." Even horrible fan-fiction (that's what this film is based on by the way - a fan of Harry Styles imagined a story where she randomly meets him.) Many people tried to make a connection between this film and "50 shades" although they honestly have nothing in common other than absurd characters.

Urgh! I cringed a few times just re-watching that trailer. Rest easy though, if you made it through that 1 minute and 18 seconds you no longer need to suffer through the film because you already know everything.

I think it says a lot about society today when something like this can get released to almost universal negative criticism yet still manages to turn 14 million into 65 million at the box office. Hero is only in this film because he is related to Ralph Fiennes, not that I have a problem with Nepotism but dear lord it was difficult to watch his acting.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give After a rather enthusiastic.....


URGH--meme-31004.jpg

Sort:  

I was planning to watch this... lol. I thought it would be as interesting as 'Dark Minds' and honestly I hadn't even watched the trailer... it's poster lured me into thinking it would be fun. May my ancestors forgive me :D

well, the power of advertising strikes again. I feel as though the trailer was actually very well made although it does give away a lot. Perhaps watch it on fast-forward the way that I did. It does contain some seriously unintentionally funny scenes via cringe-factor.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65