street film photography...documenting hong kong...Sham Shui Po with the Nikon S3

in #filmphotography6 years ago

Enjoying manual focus & manual metering with the Nikon S3 on a Sunday morning in Sham Shui Po.


Location: Sham Shui Po, Hong Kong
Camera: Nikon S3
Lens: Nikkor 3.5cm f2.5
Film: Kodak T-max 100


25650001.jpg
Click in the photos for full screen.

If you love photography check the photo contest below by @juliank

https://steemit.com/blog/@juliank/photography-contests-frequently-asked-questions

#filmphotography #photography #streetphotography #cityscapephotography #hk

cheers
fcdvpds

Sort:  

Man I'd love to try this camera with this exact lens. You are making me very, very envious.

:-) Japan is the perfect place to get it...I am a nikon fan but I have to admit I have way more fun shooting with the leica iif + summaron 35mm than with the Nikon S3 + nikkor 35mm. I will keep the S3 with the original Olympic lens but the nikkor 35mm I am selling it! It's unbelievably heavy and the aperture ring is not nice to use at all...it seems designed to stay in the same aperture forever...

There is definitely no lack for camera shops in Tokyo with nice cameras on their shelves to tempt me... First world problems.

Interesting. Seems like the Nikon rangefinders are not the best match for 35mm, huh? The idea of sticking to 50mm pains me a little, but I am also looking at the S2. Probably a bit quirky to use but I am rarely in a hurry when I shot, and I like its look. It's also much cheaper than SP and S3. Please don't tell me you also have one ;)

my problem with the S3 is the huge viewfinder with 100% magnification...it seems amazing but I love 35mm and in that finder you can't see the whole 35mm frame at the same time...you need to hunt...and then you have the 50mm and 105mm frame lines messing around. For 50mm it's ok cause the 35mm lines are not visible if you look straight...the sp is out of my budget...I really find the leica iif with the voigtlander 35mm viewfinder the perfect combination for all manual shooting :-)

Thanks a lot for your feedback. I never really looked into old leicas, maybe I should.

So many great photos from hongkong!

thanks @midday

Prince of BW-Photography. Such a perfect picture you have captured.

thanks @annalogic! more to come!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-21T14:21:06
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1076.20/1600.00
Total Photos: 148
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80