Hello, I'm a Filmmaker and I'm making a Folklore Documentary Film in my City

in #filmmaking7 years ago

Hi! I'm Jeffrie Po, I'm a local filmmaker which has the passion of making films especially documentary films. I'm currently doing a project about the folklore tales and an ill painter. I joined Steemit which was introduced by my friends @darthnava and @snip07.

I want to share my ideas of this film. Currently I'm funding it my self which is very challenging. Right now I'm currently doing research to widen the story. I'm making a film about an artist with disability from childhood gets fixated in painting local and Lumad folklores. Now old, suffering from pneumonia, he contemplates the past, mortality and life after death.

When I was in elementary, I went to the museum and found a lot of folk stories into painting. Then I wondered who painted it. I was inspired by his work, from manananggal, dwende, white lady, Oro story, Subanen and Bukidnon myths, and the Maguindanao Empire that ruled Mindanao especially in Cagayan de Oro. Then one time, in school, a simple, grey haired guy walking along the corridors, then I know that he’s Nonoy Estarte, then I said it to myself, that someday I’m going to meet him.


Here's a preview shot of the draft film

Still 2.png
Subanen epic story, one of Nonoy's painting

By the way this new project is my second full length documentary. I have done my first documentary entitled "The Soil of Dreams" (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt5710584/?ref_=nv_sr_1) last 2015.
Trailer https://www.facebook.com/TheSoilOfDreamsFilm/videos/357010151319517/

OFFICIAL-POSTER.jpg

Right now, I'm doing all I can to search for a budget to finish this film. My friends and family gave their support and very much happy that they're always there for the support.

Thank you for reading my first post here and have a good day.
Jeffrie

Sort:  

Hi, also a filmmaker, and wanted to know if you're looking to raise money by donations or by upvotes?
One of the reasons I'm on steemit, and actually found you by searching "filmmaking,". Hoping to see if anybody has tried, or pulled it off. Plus see what the filmmaking community is like on this site

Great article!

Congratulations @potocheese! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @potocheese! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47